Enemies' Spell Saving Throws


Rules Questions


Perhaps I'm just missing this section in the book, but if I cast a spell do I know if people made their saving throws?

In Pathfinder, I know if you failed your save if it is a targeted spell and I'm clueless if the spell is an area effect or burst. Is there similar language in Starfinder?


I believe that yes, you do know if a target of your spell has made their saving throw. I'm basing that off of this line:

Core Rulebook > Magic and Spells > Magic (pg. 331) wrote:

The Spell's Result

For details about a spell’s range, targets, and other mechanical details, see the spell descriptions on pages 340–385, where the details of Starfinder’s spells are presented. Once you know which creatures (or objects or areas) are affected, and whether they have succeeded at their saving throws (if any were allowed), you can apply whatever results a spell entails.


Thanks Jimbles. I found what I was looking for:

Core Rulebook > Tactical Rules > Saving Throws (pg. 242) wrote:

Success

If you succeed at a saving throw against an effect that has no obvious physical indications, you feel a hostile force or a warning tingle but cannot deduce the exact nature of the attack. Likewise, if a creature specifically targeted by one of your effects succeeds at its saving throw, you can generally tell that the creature has succeeded. You do not sense when creatures succeed at saves against effects you create that don't target a single creature.

It's like in Pathfinder, I actually have to target a creature with a spell to know if it succeeded; I'm not inherently aware of saving throws in spells that target areas.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Enemies' Spell Saving Throws All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions