Solarian Powers


Rules Questions


Some of the Solarian powers seem a bit confusing and was wondering what people thought about them:

Gravity Hold: While under this effect, the target creature cannot move, but can take any other normal actions.

So does this mean the target can't take a move action but can still shoot or that they can't do anything?

Stellar Rush: you can substitute a bull rush for the melee attack at the end of the charge. Whether or not you succeed at the bull rush, the target takes 2d6 fire damage (Reflex half).

If I decide to do a normal melee attack do I still get the 2d6 fire damage or is that only an attempted bullrush?


Stellar Rush

This is the way I read it.

You need to be fully attuned (3 charges) and make the bullrush attempt to get the 2d6 fire damage effect. Otherwise, if not fully attuned, the benefit to this power is being able to make charge attacks without the penalty.


Pathfinder Zoey wrote:

Some of the Solarian powers seem a bit confusing and was wondering what people thought about them:

Gravity Hold: While under this effect, the target creature cannot move, but can take any other normal actions.

So does this mean the target can't take a move action but can still shoot or that they can't do anything?

No, it means that the target's speed is reduced to 0. It would say something like "the creature can't take move actions" to have the former effect.

Quote:

Stellar Rush: you can substitute a bull rush for the melee attack at the end of the charge. Whether or not you succeed at the bull rush, the target takes 2d6 fire damage (Reflex half).

If I decide to do a normal melee attack do I still get the 2d6 fire damage or is that only an attempted bullrush?

I'd say that you deal fire damage only if you attempted the bull-rush.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Zoey wrote:

Some of the Solarian powers seem a bit confusing and was wondering what people thought about them:

Gravity Hold: While under this effect, the target creature cannot move, but can take any other normal actions.

So does this mean the target can't take a move action but can still shoot or that they can't do anything?

As others note, it means the victim can't move from their square, they can do whatever else they like.

Pathfinder Zoey wrote:

Stellar Rush: you can substitute a bull rush for the melee attack at the end of the charge. Whether or not you succeed at the bull rush, the target takes 2d6 fire damage (Reflex half).

If I decide to do a normal melee attack do I still get the 2d6 fire damage or is that only an attempted bullrush?

That's clearly only on a bull rush. Normal charges are still no longer at a penalty, though.


Matt2VK wrote:

Stellar Rush

This is the way I read it.

You need to be fully attuned (3 charges) and make the bullrush attempt to get the 2d6 fire damage effect. Otherwise, if not fully attuned, the benefit to this power is being able to make charge attacks without the penalty.

You have read it incorrectly.

The text is:

"When you are attuned or fully attuned, you can substitute a bull rush for the melee attack at the end of the charge. Whether or not you succeed at the bull rush, the target takes 2d6 fire damage (Reflex half). This damage increases by 1d6 at 6th level and every 2 levels thereafter."

You do not need to be fully attuned to gain the ability to substitute a bull rush. You just need to be Photon Attuned. So 1 point of Photon Attunement means this ability is available. You do not get the extra 2d6 damage unless you attempt the Bull Rush.


Pathfinder Zoey wrote:

Some of the Solarian powers seem a bit confusing and was wondering what people thought about them:

Gravity Hold: While under this effect, the target creature cannot move, but can take any other normal actions.

So does this mean the target can't take a move action but can still shoot or that they can't do anything?

No it means the target cannot move. They can use move actions (for non-movement) they can use swift actions and they can use standard actions (as long as that standard action doesn't require movement.)

So, for example, if it only stopped movement actions then a Solarian with Stellar Rush or a Soldier could still charge while held if they could charge as a standard action. The power though stops movement so, while they could use their movement action to activate something (say Gravity Shield, or Dark Matter, or Charge a weapon shot, or extend the range of a sniper rifle) they cannot move.

Quote:

Stellar Rush: you can substitute a bull rush for the melee attack at the end of the charge. Whether or not you succeed at the bull rush, the target takes 2d6 fire damage (Reflex half).

If I decide to do a normal melee attack do I still get the 2d6 fire damage or is that only an attempted bullrush?

As long as you are photon attuned you can attempt a bull rush. If you do attempt to make the bull rush you deal 2d6 fire damage to the target. (They can then save for half.)

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Solarian Powers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions