
Scamperbaby |
First, I want to write out the rules as I understand them in case I'm not reading the correctly. Then I'll get into my question.
Summon Monster takes 1 round to cast. If that creature is attacked/damaged before the beginning of it's turn in the next round, the creature must role a concentration check of DC (10 + spell level + damage dealt) every time it is hit. If they fail then the summon doesn't work and it loses the spell. Does this sound correct?
If that is correct, I'm interested to hear how other GM's encounter with Jordimandus turned out. For me, it seems that he is going to try and summon monster and the Barbarian on the flying carpet in my party is going to charge in and hit him. He has pounce and does minimum 40~ points of damage per hit so no way summon monster works.
Anyone have any ideas? The only chance I see is one of the jellies grabbing him on his charge which seems unlikely as well.

mousmous |

My party is also right there. Jordimandus' familiar, Sobloch should have alerted him to the party's presence, unless they were extremely luck/direct in getting to Jordimandus- even without Soboloch's warning from patrolling the Maze, the fight with the Chernubues happens on his doorstep, and he would begin his pre-fight buffing the round he detects the fight happening. Either way, it would be fortunate for the party if they show up and don't find some summoned minions defending Jordimandus from your barbarian's charge. His summoned creatures last 15 rounds, after all. If he hears them early enough, there could be a full menagerie in the room with him, waiting on the PCs to enter.
I seriously believe this is the primary-if-not-sole function of having Sobloch patrolling the maze in the AP.