Clarification on "Playing a Card" when it's not your turn


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


WotR Rulebook. Page 9/10.

"Anyone can play a card whenever the card allows it." "You may not activate or play a card that doesn't apply to your current situation."

Current situation: Player A turns end, refreshes their hand. Player A draws a Cure. Player B starts their turn, but hasn't explored yet. Can Player A play the cure on Player B's turn before they explore?

We're pretty sure you can, but one player is saying he's pretty sure the cure would have to wait for that player's next turn. Thanks!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yes, that is allowed. You can play cards without limits in between phases so long as the card itself does not have any other restrictions (but NOT in between turns -- no playing anything after you reset your hand but before the blessings deck is advanced).

Remember:
1. You can only explore during your own explore phase, so cards that let you explore don't apply except during that one phase on your own turn.
2. The card you play needs to apply to your current situation. You can't reveal a weapon in between phases to trigger some other power since you aren't making a combat check right then. You can't play Cure on someone with an empty discard pile just to get it out of your hand.


Awesome! Thats what we thought. Thanks Skizzerz!


Just to be sure it is clear: playing cards is extremely restricted during an encounter -- you can only play cards (and use powers) which directly effect the current step (the exceptions are a card or power that says it can be played when a card is encountered, or when a certain thing happens).


elcoderdude wrote:
Just to be sure it is clear: playing cards is extremely restricted during an encounter -- you can only play cards (and use powers) which directly effect the current step (the exceptions are a card or power that says it can be played when a card is encountered, or when a certain thing happens).

Absolutely. Once you flip a card, or do an action, you can only interact with that action specifically until it completely resolves.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Clarification on "Playing a Card" when it's not your turn All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion