Dragon Ferocity & Braid of a Hundred Masters


Pathfinder Society

Dark Archive 3/5 **

So, normally, I'd take this to the Rules forum, but we're dealing with a unique to PFS item.

The question is, how does Dragon Ferocity (Style Feat) interact with the Braid's activated ability?

Dragon Ferocity:
While using Dragon Style, increase your Strength bonus on unarmed strike damage rolls by an additional one-half your Strength bonus, to a total of double your Strength bonus on the first attack and 1-1/2 times your Strength bonus on the other attacks.

Braid of a Hundred Masters:
f the wearer of this necklace has levels in monk, his fast movement and unarmed damage are treated as a monk of 2 levels higher. If the character is not a monk, he gains the fast movement and unarmed damage of a 2nd-level monk. This fast movement functions just like the monk's fast movement class feature. These bonuses do not stack with those granted by other items or effects. In addition, as a swift action three times per day, a character with the flurry of blows class feature can use the Braid of a Hundred Masters to apply 1-1/2 times his Strength bonus on a damage rolls for successful attacks made with flurry of blows. This ability must be activated before the damage from the attack is rolled, though it may be activated after the attack roll is made and before the damage roll. Once this ability is activated, its effect lasts for 1 round.

Does this mean that when the Braid is active, I'm in Dragon Style w/ Dragon Ferocity, and I flurry, my first attack is at 2.5x STR Bonus and my remaining attacks at 2x STR Bonus? Or do these abilities not stack in any way? The language specifically calls out an increase of "1/2" versus? Or does the "to a total of" override that and cap things at 2x & 1.5 respectively?

Silver Crusade 4/5 5/55/55/5 RPG Superstar 2013 Top 8

The damage section of the PRD should help to answer this question.

PRD Damage section wrote:
Note: When you multiply damage more than once, each multiplier works off the original, unmultiplied damage. So if you are asked to double the damage twice, the end result is three times the normal damage.

EDIT

More on point, p. 12 of the CRB says this:

Multiplying wrote:
Multiplying: When you are asked to apply more than one multiplier to a roll, the multipliers are not multiplied by one another. Instead, you combine them into a single multiplier, with each extra multiple adding 1 less than its value to the first multiple. For example, if you are asked to apply a ×2 multiplier twice, the result would be ×3, not ×4.

5/5 5/55/55/5

I believe they overlap, since you can't add your strength bonus twice, 1.5 x str +1.5 x strength= 1.5 x strength

The Exchange 4/5

I believe BNW is correct on the issue. Also see the two handed fighter discussions as I think they have similar wording and results.

Dark Archive 3/5 **

Excellent. Thanks!

1/5 5/5

Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber

Hurray for a simple resolution! Hurray!

5/5 5/5

I think your calculation is correct based on the multiplier rules cited by Michael Eshleman. The "to a total of" is just a clarification that Dragon Ferocity adds to the 1.5x Strength modifier on your first unarmed strike received from Dragon Style (demonstrating that the normal stacking rules apply to the advanced style feat). When you activate the Braid, it just adds another 0.5x Strength on top of whatever bonus you already receive. If, for example, you were using a staff two handed and were not in Dragon Style, you would normally receive a 1.5x Strength bonus to damage and if you activate the Braid, it would become 2x Strength. I don't see anything in the rules for the style and the magic item to suggest that these bonuses would not stack. That said, it appears that not everyone agrees, so I would suggest you discuss it with your GM in advance to be certain that you're on the same page.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Dragon Ferocity & Braid of a Hundred Masters All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.