Shields in Core


Pathfinder Society

Dark Archive 5/5 **

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path Subscriber

This might be a bit of a silly question, but...

Since shields show up on the weapon table, does this mean that I can use Quick Draw to equip a shield?

Obviously, outside of Core, this isn't an issue, we have quick draw shields, no big deal. But I'm curious (that is to say, I'm building a Bastard Sword character) about whether this works the way I think it works...

2/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Quick draw to draw a stowed shield (one could still use it to bash without it equipped for AC bonus), still a move action to equip it.

4/5 **

While shields show up on the Weapon table because of shield bashes, they are not weapons (because they are treated as shields for things like masterwork and magical enhancement costs). So I would say quickdraw doesn't work for shields.

Scarab Sages 5/5

I'd think this is going to be subject to "Table Variation" - (going to hear that a lot at CORE tables), so you could just ask your judge at the start of each game. Sometimes you'll be restricted, sometimes you'll be empowered.

Shadow Lodge

GM Lamplighter wrote:
While shields show up on the Weapon table because of shield bashes, they are not weapons (because they are treated as shields for things like masterwork and magical enhancement costs). So I would say quickdraw doesn't work for shields.

Actually, they are treated as both, since the armor and weapon enchantments on a shield are separate, you can have a shield that is a magical weapon without it granting a bonus to AC beyond that of a normal shield.

Core Rulebook wrote:
An enhancement bonus on a shield does not improve the effectiveness of a shield bash made with it, but the shield can be made into a magic weapon in its own right.

That being said, I see no reason why quickdraw would work on a shield, then again - just never take off your shield.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Shields in Core All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.