My Parrot in Dinosaur Corral


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

51 to 55 of 55 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Relevant rules text, with added emphasis:

At This Location wrote:
These are special powers that are in effect while the location is open. Some of these remain in effect when the location is permanently closed; in that case, they also appear on the back of the location card.
Attempt the Roll wrote:
Roll the dice and add up their value, adding or subtracting any modifiers that apply to the check. Powers may allow or require you to reroll 1 or more dice; each such power can let you reroll dice only once in a single check or step. If the result is greater than or equal to the difficulty of the check, you succeed. If the result is lower than the difficulty, you fail. No matter how many penalties are applied to a roll of the dice, the result cannot be reduced below 0.

The location's power "When you play an ally that has the Animal trait on a check, add 2 to that check" is in effect during Attempt the Roll, so when you play your Parrot, you do indeed add 2 from the Dinosaur Corral when determining the new result.

Pathfinder ACG Developer

Of course, you still need to reroll. Could be real sad if you roll lower than you did before and still fail even with the +2 :)


Thanks Vic!

Parrots 1, Dinosaurs 0... I LOVE my parrots!


Vic Wertz wrote:
The location's power "When you play an ally that has the Animal trait on a check, add 2 to that check" is in effect during Attempt the Roll, so when you play your Parrot, you do indeed add 2 from the Dinosaur Corral when determining the new result.

So until proven guilty, I will arbitrate in my game that:

- Obviously you don't get back in time so unless a power clearly says so you never change a check result after it has been rolled

- But when you are about to reroll a roll, you get to reevaluate that check (not only the modifiers, but the whole check) if for whatever reason something may have changed

Grand Lodge

Frencois wrote:
Vic Wertz wrote:
The location's power "When you play an ally that has the Animal trait on a check, add 2 to that check" is in effect during Attempt the Roll, so when you play your Parrot, you do indeed add 2 from the Dinosaur Corral when determining the new result.

So until proven guilty, I will arbitrate in my game that:

- Obviously you don't get back in time so unless a power clearly says so you never change a check result after it has been rolled

Unless the card or power states that the adjustment occurs "after the roll", you cannot change the initial results.

Quote:


- But when you are about to reroll a roll, you get to reevaluate that check (not only the modifiers, but the whole check) if for whatever reason something may have changed

Yes.

51 to 55 of 55 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / My Parrot in Dinosaur Corral All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion