New player spell help


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


So, I picked up PACG WotR very recently and have not ever played any Pathfinder games or anything similar. I'm trying to figure out a few things and hoping I could get some tips as to whether I’m doing this right. I’ve watched a number of play videos, read the manual a few times and I believe I have a good, general idea of how to play but still not sure of a number of things, particularly regarding spells.

Let me highlight them through an example game I started this morning:

Playthrough : Kyra - Solo - The Godless Ones

Kyra plays a few turns and eventually runs into a Skeleton (undead trait – Check to Defeat 8).

Kyra’s skill card reads: “For your check to defeat a bane that has the Undead trait, you may recharge a spell to use your Divine skill + 1d8 and add the Attack, Divine, and Magic traits.” Kyra’s Divine is d12 +2.

So, presuming I simply recharge a spell (Cure, whatever) Kyra can roll a d12 +2 (Divine skill) + 1d8 (recharge). Correct?

But let’s say I run into something not undead. A Mercenary (check to defeat 10).

Presuming I’m holding a Fireblade spell (Attack, Divine, Magic, etc.) I can discard it for 2d4 on check to defeat. Is my “Attack” based on her Combat/Strength (1d6 + 2d4) or does Discarding the spell mean that I am using the Divine skill (1d12 +2) and 2d4 (discard). I suppose the question is, does the Trait on the card mean that I am using that same Trait to attack.

For some reason, I understand how I would use the Ranged trait/skill using Harsk and a hand crossbow, do Attack Spells operate similarly? Basically do I use the die corresponding to the trait on the card. (Divine, Arcane, etc.)

Also, returning to the Skeleton/Kyra example again, would I be able to recharge a spell for 1d8 (skill) while discarding/playing the Fireblade? I realize you can’t play 2 cards of the same type, but one action is a special skill and the other is a “normal” card play. However, they’re both operating on spells so I’m not quite sure.

Thanks for all the help


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
david peterson 990 wrote:

So, I picked up PACG WotR very recently and have not ever played any Pathfinder games or anything similar. I'm trying to figure out a few things and hoping I could get some tips as to whether I’m doing this right. I’ve watched a number of play videos, read the manual a few times and I believe I have a good, general idea of how to play but still not sure of a number of things, particularly regarding spells.

Let me highlight them through an example game I started this morning:

Playthrough : Kyra - Solo - The Godless Ones

Kyra plays a few turns and eventually runs into a Skeleton (undead trait – Check to Defeat 8).

Kyra’s skill card reads: “For your check to defeat a bane that has the Undead trait, you may recharge a spell to use your Divine skill + 1d8 and add the Attack, Divine, and Magic traits.” Kyra’s Divine is d12 +2.

So, presuming I simply recharge a spell (Cure, whatever) Kyra can roll a d12 +2 (Divine skill) + 1d8 (recharge). Correct?

Yep!

david peterson 990 wrote:

But let’s say I run into something not undead. A Mercenary (check to defeat 10).

Presuming I’m holding a Fireblade spell (Attack, Divine, Magic, etc.) I can discard it for 2d4 on check to defeat. Is my “Attack” based on her Combat/Strength (1d6 + 2d4) or does Discarding the spell mean that I am using the Divine skill (1d12 +2) and 2d4 (discard). I suppose the question is, does the Trait on the card mean that I am using that same Trait to attack.

For some reason, I understand how I would use the Ranged trait/skill using Harsk and a hand crossbow, do Attack Spells operate similarly? Basically do I use the die corresponding to the trait on the card. (Divine, Arcane, etc.)

The traits on the card have no bearing on what dice you roll. The spell description says something like "For your combat check, discard this card to use your Arcane or Divine skill +2d4." That means you pick either Arcane or Divine (for Kyra, Divine is the obvious choice), and add another 2d4 on top of that skill.

david peterson 990 wrote:

Also, returning to the Skeleton/Kyra example again, would I be able to recharge a spell for 1d8 (skill) while discarding/playing the Fireblade? I realize you can’t play 2 cards of the same type, but one action is a special skill and the other is a “normal” card play. However, they’re both operating on spells so I’m not quite sure.

Thanks for all the help

Nope, only one card or power of the form "For your blah check, play this card to use your blah skill" may be used on a check. That is the "Determine Which Skill You're Using" step of the check in the rulebook. Both Fireblade as well as Kyra's power use that template, so you can only play one of them.

That said, you can play some other spell on the check if it applies during other steps of the check. For example, you could play the Arcane Armor spell if you took combat damage during the check if you used Kyra's power. That is because you aren't playing a spell for Kyra's power, you're recharging one as part of another ability. If Kyra's power counted as playing a spell, the power text would have stated that. Ergo, it does not and you still get to play a spell on the check.

Hope that helps, and welcome to PACG!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / New player spell help All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion