Alain's power, before you act


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Hello,

Can you use Alain's power to discard a card to + bonus on checks before or after you act? On Grimslate's constitution check for example.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

No, the power specifically states "You may discard a card to add 1 plus its adventure deck number to your check to defeat a non-villain monster." If the check you are attempting is not a check to defeat a non-villain monster, you can't use it. Checks to defeat are only those checks listed in the "Check to Defeat" box, and not any other checks the monster or any other card may have you perform.


skizzerz wrote:
No, the power specifically states "You may discard a card to add 1 plus its adventure deck number to your check to defeat a non-villain monster." If the check you are attempting is not a check to defeat a non-villain monster, you can't use it. Checks to defeat are only those checks listed in the "Check to Defeat" box, and not any other checks the monster or any other card may have you perform.

Awesome, thanks for the clarification skizzerz :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Alain's power, before you act All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion