Crusader's Legacy and Redeeming a Card


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


The reward for the Adventure 3 Scenario "Crusader's Legacy" says

Quote:
Each character gains a card feat. One character may redeem a card.

Does this have to be a card in the character's possession. Nothing in the rules (that I've been able to find) says it must. As far as I can tell it could be any card, even one the character's won't get until adventure 6. Is this the intent. Am I missing something obvious.

This also applies to the Adventure 3 Scenario "The Fallen Fane." which has the same reward (swapping skill for card feat.)

Thanks.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
WotR rulebook, p14 wrote:
When you are allowed to redeem a card, check it off on the redemption card; for the rest of the Adventure Path, that boon no longer has the Corrupted trait.

Rules say nothing about it needing to be a card you have; Corruption Forge added a stipulation that it needed to be in someone's hand which may be the source of your question. By RAW, you can check off whatever card you'd like even if you haven't gotten it yet or don't even know what it is/does.

Not sure what intent is, but I'd think if it was meant to be restricted to cards characters have acquired, it'd be rather limiting as you'd have very little opportunity to have actually acquired many redeemable cards by that point in the game. As such, I think the wording likely aligns with intent in that you can check off anything.


I think the intent is to make it clear that you only get to redeem one card, not as many cards as party members. You can still redeem whatever you want, whether or not the party has the card being redeemed.


Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Well, fortunately for me when I completed this scenario, I had just acquired the Corrupted Poison weapon. So, I was able to redeem it almost immediately.


From the FAQ: "...unless a card specifies otherwise, you can only redeem one of your cards. (Page 10 of the rulebook tells you that "your cards include your deck, the cards in your hand, and your buried, discarded, and displayed cards.")"

By now everyone probably realizes this, but I was confused for a while after reading this thread so I thought I'd add a note.

(Oh, and another note to my past self: You can't redeem blessings!)


I'm sure Hawk will find the post but I'm 100% sure I asked that question long ago and Mike confirmed that you can only redeem one of your card (as per the definition above) and only one card listed on the redemption list (so indeed no blessing).

But some powers let you ignore a trait on a card... and you can then ignore the cursed trait on a blessing for as long as the power allows.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Kreniigh wrote:

From the FAQ: "...unless a card specifies otherwise, you can only redeem one of your cards. (Page 10 of the rulebook tells you that "your cards include your deck, the cards in your hand, and your buried, discarded, and displayed cards.")"

By now everyone probably realizes this, but I was confused for a while after reading this thread so I thought I'd add a note.

(Oh, and another note to my past self: You can't redeem blessings!)

Yep, that FAQ came out after this thread was posted, and this thread was never posted to indicating that an FAQ was issued.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

I'm not being pedantic; I'm redeeming this thread!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Crusader's Legacy and Redeeming a Card All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion