Question about Protection from Evil vs. Dominate Person.


Rules Questions


In my group this situation came up. NPC was under the ward of protection from good. I have reviewed the thread below for possible answers to my question. But my question wasn't answered on that thread and I couldn't find it anywhere else. Please point me in the right direction if it's been answered before.

Technically in the entire text of the spell it does not specifically state what a creature does when an order is not given. If a creature has protection from good and is dominated and therefore can't be ordered to do anything yet... what does it do in the mean time? Act on it's own behalf or stand there like a totem pole?

Thanks for help.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2kl0d?Protection-from-Evil-v-Dominate-Person

Grand Lodge

Dominate outright fails to work against a target that already has the appropriate Protection from X spell on them. If the Dominate happens first, the appropriate Protection from X spell just grants them a new save vs the effect.


From my understanding of the spells and the previous thread linked. The spell Dominate does work but the ability to exert control over your link does not, my question is while under the spell Dominate person what is the person dominated doing while not receiving orders?

Grand Lodge

Your understanding is incorrect, and James Jacob was incorrect in that thread. You might want to check a thread more recent than 2010 next time.

Edit: Try this thread.


Fair, throwing out the Protection from Evil part then what does a Dominated person do when they aren't ordered anything? That'll clear up what i'm asking. All I see in the spell description is eat, sleep, and so forth to survive. What are they doing otherwise?

Sovereign Court

PRD wrote:
Second, the subject immediately receives another saving throw (if one was allowed to begin with) against any spells or effects that possess or exercise mental control over the creature (including enchantment [charm] effects and enchantment [compulsion] effects, such as charm person, command, and dominate person. This saving throw is made with a +2 morale bonus, using the same DC as the original effect. If successful, such effects are suppressed for the duration of this spell. The effects resume when the duration of this spell expires. While under the effects of this spell, the target is immune to any new attempts to possess or exercise mental control over the target. This spell does not expel a controlling life force (such as a ghost or spellcaster using magic jar), but it does prevent them from controlling the target. This second effect only functions against spells and effects created by evil creatures or objects, subject to GM discretion.

If the creature was Dominated, then Protected, and he passed his save, the effect of the spell is suppressed. So he'd be free to act as he liked while the Protection lasts.


jrok512 wrote:
What are they doing otherwise?

Whatever they so desire. Mundane tasks like eating and sleeping, followed by their normal life. Adventuring, working as a blacksmith, opera singing, or whatever other activities the character would normally be involved in. But few, if any, Dominators will bother to control a person then simply release them without any orders. What's the point?

Generic orders, like "Help me unlock the secrets of the tomb of Kali-Ma" or "Work secretly to assassinate the King" or "Go back to your normal life, but when a man hands you a red rose, you must immediately take him to the treasury" involve some combination of your normal life plus whatever you've been Dominated to do.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about Protection from Evil vs. Dominate Person. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions