| JohnnyfiveUnAlive |
In my current game, the players have deactivated the power relay, intercepted the two scrapwall fanatics that came out to investigate and are now hunkering down at the Foundry, poking at the odd device. Meyanda has Gruethor, 3 ratfolk and her collector robot left, so she organizes them, prepares locate object and is heading to the surface. My question is simply, can she take the collector robot with her, since it would need to pass through at least 45 feet of submerged waterway (probably longer, since it needs to then reach the surface).
1. Can robots operate underwater (considering most of their artwork shows exposed interiors)
2. Can a COLLECTOR robot move around underwater (since it moves by propellers)
3. Am I overthinking this? I'd assume not, since these early encounters help to set the stage for a players ideas of how robots work in the future.
Ayanzo
|
I'd assume it can still propel itself underwater. The adventure is more climatic however when in the engineering deck so I recommend something to urge the PCs into that location.
In short, yea, the collector bot is fine underwater, I'm sure ancient androffins make sure their machines were resistant to humidity. From a RAW standpoint, constructs don't breath so PFS won't bat an eye.
| JohnnyfiveUnAlive |
I think I'll just have Meyanda send Gruethor and her remaining ratfolk out to ambush the PC's in the caves, striking as they emerge sickened from the tainted waters of Weeping Pond. That way they get the sense of "someone noticed that we turned off the power relay" necessary to point at the link between it and the goings on beneath Torch. Maybe have one of the ratfolk shriek something akin to "They broke the power link, Mistress wants them dead!"
James Jacobs
Creative Director
|
In my current game, the players have deactivated the power relay, intercepted the two scrapwall fanatics that came out to investigate and are now hunkering down at the Foundry, poking at the odd device. Meyanda has Gruethor, 3 ratfolk and her collector robot left, so she organizes them, prepares locate object and is heading to the surface. My question is simply, can she take the collector robot with her, since it would need to pass through at least 45 feet of submerged waterway (probably longer, since it needs to then reach the surface).
1. Can robots operate underwater (considering most of their artwork shows exposed interiors)
2. Can a COLLECTOR robot move around underwater (since it moves by propellers)
3. Am I overthinking this? I'd assume not, since these early encounters help to set the stage for a players ideas of how robots work in the future.
1) Yes.
2) It can either walk along the bottom, or it would have to make swim checks to determine how well it moves.
3) Maybe a little. The game generally assumes if something isn't mentioned, it uses the normal rules; it's not mentioned that water has a particularly notable effect on robots or that they can't swim, so the normal rules apply.