Radillo and Encounters


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


See the new FAQ: [URL]http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2rj6d?my-temporary-FAQ-thread[/URL]

1. If Detect Magic causes you to encounter a boon, Radillo's card-grabbing feat apply? Haste to create an explore?

Radillo Arcane Collector wrote:
When you encounter a boon, you may bury a card to banish it and instead summon and encounter a random boon of the same type (□ or a spell) (□ or an ally) from the box.

2. We probably don't want these boons to be banished according to the summoned card ruling.

3. Is this one encounter step or one per boon? If it is two, then it can be 10 if Radillo has enough cards to bury. (Nobody will find her loot!)

"Radillo Puppet Master wrote:
When any character at your location encounters a monster, you may recharge an ally to reduce the difficulty of the check to defeat the monster by 1 (□ 2) plus the adventure deck number of the recharged ally, if any.

Assume I encounter a henchman with two checks.

4. Does this apply to both? 'When (whoever) encounters' sounds like a cloud spell but 'the check' suggests a single check to defeat a monster.

5. So can I recharge Pyromaniac Mage for 6, cast an attack spell, return the Pyro to hand, play it on the check and then use another spell on the second check so that I can use the Pyro on the second check as well?

Sovereign Court

1) Yes, an encounter is an encounter
2) I think this is a common sense decision, and the card doesn't get banished even though it was summoned
3) Her power says she encounters it. You can bury to your heart's content, but it's going hurt to do it
4) I think it's just a poor word choice using a singular check instead of checks. Definitely all checks to defeat
5) Arcane trait, not Attack, but no. Runelords Ezren has a power that works the same way, and his was clarified that he examines the card to potentially take after the check. If it's a multiple check encounter, he examines after the first, then can do it again after the second. This one works the same way. You'd be allowed to pull Pyromancer after the first check, so he'd only be available for the second one.

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

mlvanbie wrote:
Radillo Arcane Collector wrote:
When you encounter a boon, you may bury a card to banish it and instead summon and encounter a random boon of the same type (□ or a spell) (□ or an ally) from the box.
2. We probably don't want these boons to be banished according to the summoned card ruling.

Yeah, this means we'll probably need that "unless the summoning card tells you otherwise" wording. Good catch.

mlvanbie wrote:
"Radillo Puppet Master wrote:
When any character at your location encounters a monster, you may recharge an ally to reduce the difficulty of the check to defeat the monster by 1 (□ 2) plus the adventure deck number of the recharged ally, if any.

Assume I encounter a henchman with two checks.

4. Does this apply to both? 'When (whoever) encounters' sounds like a cloud spell but 'the check' suggests a single check to defeat a monster.

We'll discuss the intent here.


Andrew K wrote:
1) Yes, an encounter is an encounter

Note that the sequence I'm asking about has four parts:

* Detect Magic
* Recharge Detect Magic
* Fetch card spell from bottom of deck to hand
* Encounter a boon with the Magic trait

I actually think that the answer is supposed to be 'no', since you weren't already in an encounter. In the case of Haste you could combine it with Swipe to have a pretty good loop. This is what we want to prevent.

Andrew K wrote:
3) Her power says she encounters it. You can bury to your heart's content, but it's going hurt to do it

But how many encounters are there? This will affect per-encounter opportunities to use powers.

Andrew K wrote:
5) Arcane trait, not Attack, but no. Runelords Ezren has a power that works the same way, and his was clarified that he examines the card to potentially take after the check. If it's a multiple check encounter, he examines after the first, then can do it again after the second. This one works the same way. You'd be allowed to pull Pyromancer after the first check, so he'd only be available for the second one.

Mike determined that the ability is once per check: http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2rj6d?my-temporary-FAQ-thread#15

Sorry, that was supposed to be an attack spell with Arcane trait.

Thanks for reminding me about the FAQ. Looking at the FAQ for Ezren and checks during an encounter, the order of events for an encounter with one check is

Arcane attack spell (A1)
Recharge A1
Use Radillo's power to grab A1 into hand

I'm not sure that was what was intended for this power.

I can't remember what happens if Ezren/Radillo plays multiple spells during an encounter (up to 4, assuming two checks with an attack spell each and two uses of Arcane Armor/Mirror Image). Does that mean that up to four spells and allies can be pulled into hand?

Sovereign Court

I was reading your #1 as belonging to the quote below it. You definitely are not in an encounter so the power wouldn't happen.

#3 The power tells you to encounter that card, each one is its own encounter. However, because of when you have to activate your power, it's going to limit what you can do in each encounter. It's when, not before, so it happens almost immediately when you flip the card.

#5 I can't tell if your linking Mike's post as a confirmation of mine, or are somehow reading it as disagreeing with what I posted.


Mike has said that the power is applies to a single check (similar to Wand of Enervation). You wrote that it was 'Definitely all checks to defeat', which I interpreted to be in conflict with Mike's unofficial-until-Vic-returns ruling. Of course, you can use the ability once per check.

Sovereign Court

Ah, you quoted my response to #5 instead of #4 for that one lol. I thought you were saying Mike clarified that you could use the examine power once per check.


Oops, sorry for the confusion. Maybe I put too many things in the initial post. They were kind of related and I wanted people to think through the consequences for new FAQ items.

In the case of 1, I think that the FAQ entry with the power errata should call out spells that create encounters and explores as not qualifying for using the power.

I don't think that spells are supposed to go from recharge to reveal, but they seem to do that during checks against due to the Ezren ruling.


mlvanbie wrote:
1. If Detect Magic causes you to encounter a boon, Radillo's card-grabbing feat apply? Haste to create an explore?

The (pending) errata says (emphasis added):

Mike Selinker wrote:
If you play a spell that has the Arcane trait during an encounter, you may examine the bottom card of your deck; if it is a spell (□ or an ally), you may put it on top of your deck (□ or add it to your hand).

There is no way to play Haste or Detect Magic during an explore so that power would never be usable for those two spells.

mlvanbie wrote:
5. So can I recharge Pyromaniac Mage for 6, cast an attack spell, return the Pyro to hand, play it on the check and then use another spell on the second check so that I can use the Pyro on the second check as well?

There is a problem with the sequence here. This is what you are trying to do:

1. Recharge Pyromaniac Mage to add to your Arcane check.
2. Play an Attack spell that makes it an Arcane check.
3. Look at the bottom of your deck and take the Pyromaniac Mage from the bottom of the deck.

That doesn't work. You can't play the Pyromaniac Mage before the spell because you don't have an Arcane check to add to yet. You have to go in this order:

1. Play a spell.
2. Look at the bottom of the deck (and maybe take the card).
3. Recharge Pyromaniac Mage to add to the check.
4. Recharge the spell.

Then if necessary:

5. Play a spell for the second check.
6. Look at the bottom of the deck (and maybe take back the first spell).
7. Recharge the second spell.

mlvanbie wrote:

Thanks for reminding me about the FAQ. Looking at the FAQ for Ezren and checks during an encounter, the order of events for an encounter with one check is

Arcane attack spell (A1)
Recharge A1
Use Radillo's power to grab A1 into hand

The order of events is wrong, per this entry in the FAQ. The correct order of events is;

Arcane Attack spell (A1)
Use Radillo's power to look at the bottom of deck (and potentially grab a card).
Recharge A1.


Ah, I was reading that entry but apparently I was reading the text to delete. Having both the text coming and going can be confusing.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Radillo and Encounters All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion