
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I am not sure on the PFS-specific rules here.
i understand that normally in PFS a familiar cannot activate a magic item.
But then there is an exception made for a few improved familiars, including the faerie dragon to use wands.
So I am not sure if that also covers staffs, because they are also spell-trigger items or if they are considered something else and their use is not allowed.
And a second question, related to the whole thing:
"A faerie dragon casts spells as a 3rd-level sorcerer."
Is it considered a sorcerer in regard to spell-trigger and spell-completion items and would it in PFS be able to use scrolls or would that also count as activating a magic item and therefore not be allowed in PFS?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I would assume that a staff is too large for a Faerie Dragon to use. It's already two-handed for a medium creature.
Since "using wands" is not "using scrolls", I'd say no scroll activation for familiars. And yes, using a scroll is activating a magic item.
The Faerie Dragon's sorcerer spells would affect which wands it can activate without having to roll UMD, though. At least that's how I would rule that.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Sheldock wrote:Since magic items are supposed to resize, i don't think size would be a problem, otherwise gnomes and halflings wouldn't be able to use them either.Where are you getting this resizing thing from? I haven't seen any resize mechanic since First Edition.
When an article of magic clothing or jewelry is discovered, most of the time size shouldn’t be an issue. Many magic garments are made to be easily adjustable, or they adjust themselves magically to the wearer. Size should not keep characters of various kinds from using magic items.
Which does not cover weapons, so you are right and i should check stuff before typing.
Of course i could Iron Lord's Transforming Slivers (ISG266) or just buy a tiny sized staff, so the size problem seems secondary to me, my question is more about the legality according to PFS rules.