Harrowing Spell legality


Pathfinder Society


On the additional resources page is says the "Harrowing" Spell from the Inner Sea World Guide is not legal for PFS play. However, the "Harrowing, Greater" spell from the Harrow Handbook, IS legal for play.

Why is one legal and the other isn't? Is it possible that it should have become legal when the changes made to most other Harrow related abilities became legal and was just overlooked, or should the Greater Harrowing been rendered illegal for play as well? Or is there something about the regular Harrowing Spell that the Greater Harrowing doesn't have that renderes in unsuitable for PFS play?

Also the "Harrowing" spell listed in the instruction booklet that comes with the Harrow Deck is not listed anywhere in the additional resources. While is is the same spell as the one in the Inner Sea World Guide, it is described in this independent document and thus the Harrow Deck likely requires its own additional resources entry.

Shadow Lodge

Up until the Harrowing Handbook was released, nothing Harrow-related was PFS legal. Recently they revisited the Harrow material, prompted by an entire book about it being released, and have opened up the existing material.

As to the harrowing spell itself, it was likely intended to be legal, but because of how Mike passes updates to the web team, sometimes text getting removed from a list gets missed, because there's nothing to highlight, and thus nothing to draw attention to it; Mike has already stated that has been the case with several other Harrow-related options that were missed when they opened it up. If no one else has already brought this to his attention, this will, and will probably be corrected the next time the Additional Resources page gets updated.

TL;DNR version: It's probably a mistake, expect it to be corrected.

5/5

It was overlooked when the AR was updated, and should be added soon.

However, since you now have a post from Mike on the subject, you can print and use that in place of the AR to utilize the option till it gets added to the full AR page.

Shadow Lodge

Sniggevert wrote:
However, since you now have a post from Mike on the subject, you can print and use that in place of the AR to utilize the option till it gets added to the full AR page.

In the rare instance a GM might try to say that RAW says you can't cast harrowing, messageboard clarifications are binding in PFS, so Mike clarifying harrowing is supposed to be legal, but that the people who updated the AR missed that it was removed from the "not legal" list, is in fact a legitimate ruling that the spell is legal.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Harrowing Spell legality All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.