Spell Turning Against Spells Targeting Items


Rules Questions


So the exact wording of spell turning is

Quote:
Spells and spell-like effects targeted on you are turned back upon the original caster. The abjuration turns only spells that have you as a target.

In a recent session, a player cast a spell with another player's sword as target, and the owner of the sword used spell turning to reflect it back on the caster. But if I understand it correctly, this should not work, right? Because it says it only turns spells that have you as a target.


Sounds like you got it right Cloudyshine.


Correct. It wouldn't even make sense to reflect it back to the caster, as the caster wouldn't be a valid target for many such spells.


Oh darn, I worded that poorly. He reflected it back on the caster's sword. My question is whether or not you can use spell turning when your gear is being targeted, not you.

Silver Crusade

No, because your gear is not you.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Turning Against Spells Targeting Items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions