Harsk's Attack Ability


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Harsk can aid any one at any location with a combat check. I have 3 questions.

1) Can he aid someone at his location, or is it limited to other locations.

2) When aiding he rolls 1d4. Can he add his range bonus also? (It starts at +3.)

3) Does he have to aid at the same time as the other person is making their check, or can he wait to see if whether or not the other character made the check and then add his 1d4?


Charles Scholz wrote:

Harsk can aid any one at any location with a combat check. I have 3 questions.

1) Can he aid someone at his location, or is it limited to other locations.

2) When aiding he rolls 1d4. Can he add his range bonus also? (It starts at +3.)

3) Does he have to aid at the same time as the other person is making their check, or can he wait to see if whether or not the other character made the check and then add his 1d4?

1. The card text states at another location, so you cannot assist at your own location. This motivates him to be a loner.

2. He only rolls the 1d4. Unless something specifically states you do or add something, you don't. I do understand it can be tricky to find some things in rules or FAQ, but this isn't one of the cases where there's an exception.

3. You always build the dice pools before the roll. Except with the Luck Stone, there's nothing in the game that lets you alter the results of the dice once they're rolled.


@Deekow - I'll return the favor by splitting hairs here for you ;)

(Actually, I said almost the same thing as you on another thread then somebody pointed out another exception)

@CharlesScholz, Deekow is right on all counts. For #3 there is one other case (apart from Luckstone)... some weapons allow you to re-roll the dice pool if you fail. Note that, in this case, you still cannot add to the dice pool or modifiers. You just re-roll all the physical dice and see if you won or lost the second time.


h4ppy wrote:

@Deekow - I'll return the favor by splitting hairs here for you ;)

(Actually, I said almost the same thing as you on another thread then somebody pointed out another exception)

@CharlesScholz, Deekow is right on all counts. For #3 there is one other case (apart from Luckstone)... some weapons allow you to re-roll the dice pool if you fail. Note that, in this case, you still cannot add to the dice pool or modifiers. You just re-roll all the physical dice and see if you won or lost the second time.

Oh sure! ;) Valid distinction, but if we're talking about modification, it's not quite the same thing. To illustrate the point, we could have a discussion about things that modify skill checks and ponder whether the ability to reroll them would allow reapplication of the modification.

But, let's not.


OK :)

(For casual readers - if you re-roll a check then you just re-roll all the dice, and apply the original modifiers, as if the first roll never happened.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Harsk's Attack Ability All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion