Ultimate Campaign and Promoting a business


Product Discussion


Been reading over these rules a few times, and now and then I find something I thought I read right, then realized I may have read it wrong.

Under promoting a business, you first choose one type of capital to serve as your buffer (to augment profit check).

Next, you roll for the number of days the promotion 'increased activity' lasts. 1d6 to be exact.

You Choose one capital the building can generate, and you make a check for it as skilled work using either diplomacy, knowledge (local), or spellcraft (I presume some are better than others at promoting particular types). every point of capital you put in augments the roll by 5 points (meaning 2 capital basically insures 1 capital always is added).

Nowhere comes the fuzzy part: the wording of that last part about generating the capital with a roll says 'to determine how many additional resources the business generates over the course of the increased activity'.

So...does that mean that, if you rolled 6 days, and rolled a 30 on <random capital>, you made 3 extra capital over 6 days, or you made 3 extra capital on each day (meaning 18)?

Likewise, since this is a roll 'in addition to' the regular oens the business seems to make, the business makes its normal checks for those 6 days as well, yes?

At first I thought this was a neat way to half gamble some resources and hope you got a windfall of extra, but on re-reading, it's looking like it's a way to do the 'convert capital' method in a more efficient manner if it makes sense (Got spare Goods? sacrifice two of them to promote the magic at your magic academy by having a cute prize for a spellcasting contest, instead of converting 5 of them into a single magic capital).

So, which way was more accurate to the intent? Or am I wrong on both counts?


Migrated this to rules, as it's probably more appropriate forum. I can't delete this it seems. >.<


I'm pretty sure promoting a business just adds a buff (+5 per point spent) for X days to the capital that business generates.

If your business is generating 2 goods per day, promoting your business by spending 2 labor (for a +10), will net 3 goods per day for however long you rolled.

Example:

I have a Stall (+8). On a normal day, that stall will roll an 18, producing 18 silver, 1 goods, or 1 labor.

I decide I am going to promote my Stall by spending 3 points of labor (I have my horses run around showing off how great they are and how well I treat them), hoping to generate more Labor in the process.

I roll the d6 and get a 5. That means for 5 days, my Stall has a +8 for gold and goods, but +23 for Labor. So, over those 5 days, I could produce 3 labor per day (15 total), which is three times what I'd make without having promoted the business.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Paizo Products / Product Discussion / Ultimate Campaign and Promoting a business All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Product Discussion