Researching Divine spells as Arcane


Homebrew and House Rules


The Pathfinder Savant prestige class allows you to add one spell per level (beyond the first) from any class spell list to your own. And you cast it as your base spell casting class. So a wizard casting Cure Light Wounds can cast it as an arcane spell. The only drawback is that its +1 spellcasting level, so Cure Light Wounds [Arcane] is a second level spell.

Likewise, a Cleric casting Magic Missile [Divine)] is casting it as a second level spell as well.

This strikes me as a very good mechanic that justifies the old 'magic is magic, we just cast it differently' fluff i've always liked.

To expand on this I've thought that it wouldn't be unfair or unbalanced to allow a caster of whatever type of magic to be able to get a copy of a spell they would like to cast, such as a Wizard wanting Death Knell, and in addition to the copying costs/scroll cost they would also need to pay the research costs for a new spell.

The resulting [Arcane] Death Knell spell would be a third level spell in their spell list, just like the prestige class.

So basically 'pay a lot of extra money, and you can cast the spell, albeit at a higher level'.

Anyone have any thoughts on this rather simple houserule?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Homebrew and House Rules / Researching Divine spells as Arcane All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Homebrew and House Rules