Enchanting Tools


Pathfinder Society

Shadow Lodge 2/5

I have a character that uses improvised weapons in place of the traditional ones. He mostly uses a crowbar for melee and whatever is handy for ranged. That being said, I want to know if it is legal to get a masterwork crowbar and then enchant it. I would have no problem paying normal costs for this, I just want to be able to run his theme all the way through to level 12. I won't be able to do that without being able to get some +1 or better weaponry. So, is this legal?

And would it be legal in Pathfinder Society? I asked around at the convention I was at this weekend. I got a general "I don't see why not, but I don't know for sure."

Grand Lodge 5/5

You might want to check out this thread. Hope that helps.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/5

There was a long and heated thread on this topic with many conflicting opinions, so be aware that following such a path may cause problems at some tables. Were you intending to use any feats to aid this shtick?

Personally, I don't think it is allowed. The masterwork weapon rules state 'a masterwork weapon is a finely crafted version of a normal weapon'. An improvised weapon, by definition, isn't a normal weapon. In fact, the PRD says the following about them: '...objects not crafted to be weapons nonetheless see use in combat. Because such objects are not designed for this use...'

Something not crafted to be a weapon that's simultaneously a finely crafted weapon makes no sense to me.

I'd have no issue with a player describing his PC's club (following the normal rules for that weapon) as a walking cane, or rolling pin, or pickaxe handle, or whatever.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/5

THIS is the thread I was referring to.

Grand Lodge 5/5

Paz is on it. I linked the wrong one

Shadow Lodge 2/5

I didn't read the whole thing because it sounds like this:
I can make a master work crowbar and enchant it as a weapon, but I need to mention it to my DM/GM before the session starts. So, thanks for the link and good gaming.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/5

Sphen: I linked to that thread to illustrate the differing opinions on the legality of this tactic, as a warning if you were thinking of doing such a thing. Did you read my post above?

Bear in mind that there are no official posts from campaign leadership in that thread.

Shadow Lodge 2/5

I did read it, and the three Pathfinder Society DM's I asked about it this weekend all seemed okay with the concept. So I will make sure I take multiple characters and if a DM has a problem with it, I will play a different character. I understand that nothing is official with this thread, but I have a venture captain (who shall remain nameless so as to not throw him under the bus) who stated that he saw no problem with the concept.

Worse comes to worse, I will retire the character.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Enchanting Tools All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society