| Matthew Shelton |
Is there a feat or spell somewhere out there that would allow a spellcaster to 'translate' magic items from one form to another? For instance: convert a scroll (of 3rd level or less) to a potion so that a non-caster ally could use it independently....or convert the charges in a wand to create as many potions of the same spell....
If this took the form of a feat, I'm betting it would require all the associated Item Creation feats as prerequisites, and there would need to be a time constraint (at least half the normal time required to brew a potion or potions. And of course the raw materials would have to be on hand for the process to complete.
If this took the form of a spell, what would be the spell level? Probably there should be a separate spell for scrolls and for wands. It seems interesting to me to have a spell that would let a character 'extract' a charge from a wand, or 'strip' the energy from the inscription of a scroll and imbue a vial of liquid with this energy to create the potion.
As well, it does not seem logical to have a process for conversion in the other direction (i.e. potion-into-scroll or potions-into-wand), so leaving it as a one-way deal seems reasonable.
What's your take?
| Darksol the Painbringer |
Is there a feat or spell somewhere out there that would allow a spellcaster to 'translate' magic items from one form to another? For instance: convert a scroll (of 3rd level or less) to a potion so that a non-caster ally could use it independently....or convert the charges in a wand to create as many potions of the same spell....
If this took the form of a feat, I'm betting it would require all the associated Item Creation feats as prerequisites, and there would need to be a time constraint (at least half the normal time required to brew a potion or potions. And of course the raw materials would have to be on hand for the process to complete.
If this took the form of a spell, what would be the spell level? Probably there should be a separate spell for scrolls and for wands. It seems interesting to me to have a spell that would let a character 'extract' a charge from a wand, or 'strip' the energy from the inscription of a scroll and imbue a vial of liquid with this energy to create the potion.
As well, it does not seem logical to have a process for conversion in the other direction (i.e. potion-into-scroll or potions-into-wand), so leaving it as a one-way deal seems reasonable.
What's your take?
Well; it depends. I would think the rules would suggest that you can use the magic ensorcelled in a scroll imbued into a potion; it would make sense that you can use a Scroll as an option in regards to the spell component of the potion, but the restrictions of the Potion applies, in that it cannot ascend beyond 3rd level, and that you need the Brew Potion feat at the minimum. You might need more depending upon the spell and the requirements of the potion that is made in regards to it. However, I would think the benefits of the scroll (that is, the higher caster level and such) would still apply to the potion. For example, a Scroll of Cure Moderate Wounds at a CL 11 would net you a Potion of Cure Moderate Wounds (with a +11 modifier).
As far as a Wand, I don't think that is feasible to use charges from a Wand into a Potion, because the magic of a wand is already pre-determined and imbued; unless there is a RAW statement saying you can, I doubt you could even use a Wand as spell components for a potion due to the nature/mechanics of a Wand.