
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Copy/Pasted from 'Ask James Jacobs' thread
If I have a character in a PBP PFS Scenario that has died, am I able to take that character to an actual Society event? If so, would I just use his stats as presented upon creation or could I get a chronicle sheet for however much of the scenario was completed?
This is one of the questions asked to me by a buddy of mine who I recently converted into playing Society (our varying schedules keep us from playing our usual home games). I guess he asked his GM there, but not even the GM was sure. At the time, they ruled it as being okay, but not being able to use the chronicle sheet, but I thought I'd ask here because its something I'd like to hear some sort of 'officially unofficial' ruling on.
I did receive James' answer saying that it'd be best to ask Mike about that, given its his area of expertise, so that's what I'm doing. The following is James' answer on the subject. For any PFS players in here, this is NOT an official answer, so don't hold any of this to gold. Its hard enough for GMs or even other PCs and I can only imagine Paizo staff to get things straight when people are stepping forward saying, 'Well, he said she said this.'
That's a Mike Brock question. But I would think that should be okay... I'm honestly even less familiar with how PBP PFS games work than PFS games in the first place.
Frankly, so much of PFS relies on the honor system anyway that as long as you're not specifically trying to cheat the system, I don't see this as being a problem at all. Your character DID actually play through those encounters after all

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

It falls under the normal death rules. You receive a Chronicle. It should be noted under conditions gained as "dead." If you have PP or gold to raise the character, that is noted under conditions cleared. If you do not have the gold or PP at the end of the scenario to raise, he remains dead and is removed from play for good.
If he is raised, you can certainly take him to a in-person game.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

It falls under the normal death rules. You receive a Chronicle. It should be noted under conditions gained as "dead." If you have PP or gold to raise the character, that is noted under conditions cleared. If you do not have the gold or PP at the end of the scenario to raise, he remains dead and is removed from play for good.
If he is raised, you can certainly take him to a in-person game.
I think he's saying the game itself died/fell apart, instead of the character. It can be a significant hazard for PbP games unfortunately.