| EvilAmarant7x |
If I enchant a gauntlet, does it add a bonus to disarm/trip/grapple? The gauntlet description says:
'A strike with a gauntlet is otherwise considered an unarmed attack.' (Although I'm not sure if that's even relevant, but I guess it would still give you a -4 penalty to disarm while unarmed...)
[Also, do I have to enchant each gauntlet separately? I'm not trying to do two weapon fighting or anything with unarmed attacks and the image of punching multiple times in a row with only one arm is a bit ridiculous]
And the Combat Maneuver section says:
'Add any bonuses you currently have
on attack rolls due to spells, feats, and other effects. These
bonuses must be applicable to the weapon or attack used to
perform the maneuver.'
I could see the argument that no, you're probably not tripping using your hands and probably not grappling using only your hands either, so you can't get the bonus. But I was curious.
And if gauntlet is a no, what about the Amulet of Mighty Fists? Can I get a bonus to CMB from that item if I'm attacking unarmed?
Finally, if a fighter specializes in the 'Close' weapon group, would he get bonuses to Combat Maneuvers if he was unarmed/gauntlet-clad?
| Ashiel |
I could see the argument that no, you're probably not tripping using your hands and probably not grappling using only your hands either, so you can't get the bonus. But I was curious.
Gauntlets are unarmed strikes, so you can trip them. For what it's worth (and that is very little, being reality =! D&D), whenever I'm sparring, I frequently use my hands for tripping.
| Ashiel |
SKR called out Gauntlets as light weapons, not unarmed strikes, while Ultimate Equipment did not reflect this.
So, there is that as well.
The core rulebook calls out gauntlets as unarmed strikes -- and has done so in 3E and 3.5 as well -- and this has not changed. They require Improved Unarmed Strike to not provoke attacks, and they can be used to deliver touch spells and the like through.
Gauntlet: This metal glove lets you deal lethal damage rather than nonlethal damage with unarmed strikes. A strike with a gauntlet is otherwise considered an unarmed attack. The cost and weight given are for a single gauntlet. Medium and heavy armors (except breastplate) come with gauntlets. Your opponent cannot use a disarm action to disarm you of gauntlets.
Of course, it is correct that as an unarmed strike, gauntlets are light weapons.
Light: A light weapon is used in one hand. It is easier to use in one's off hand than a one-handed weapon is, and can be used while grappling (see Combat). Add the wielder's Strength modifier to damage rolls for melee attacks with a light weapon if it's used in the primary hand, or half the wielder's Strength bonus if it's used in the off hand. Using two hands to wield a light weapon gives no advantage on damage; the Strength bonus applies as though the weapon were held in the wielder's primary hand only.
An unarmed strike is always considered a light weapon.
| Ashiel |
The gauntlet thing is a bit fuzzy, so check with your DM.
As I said, SKR says a gauntlet in not an unarmed strike, whilst Ultimate Equipment says it is.
We could walk through this debate again, or you can just ask your DM.
For now, I suggest the latter option.
I suggest asking your DM, while noting that the core rules (and apparently Ultimate Equipment?) say that they are unarmed strikes. Anything otherwise is a house rule.