Witch Clarification or Ruling


Pathfinder Society


Josh,

I was playing a society mod last weekend and was trying out a Witch. We fought animated objects which are, of course, immune to mind effecting. We ruled it would effect them because it is a lot like "Hexblade Curse" which was a necromantic effect. Then I looked at it again and in flavor text it says "The witch can cause doubt to creep into the mind of a foe" which implies it is mind effecting.

This was brought up at the beginning of the Witch playtest and has not been addressed. Can you give me on a PFS ruling on this or explain what I’m missing, and why it doesn't need a ruling?

Also, is diabolist being considered as an acceptable prestige class?

EDIT: Talking about Evil Eye... Sorry


Whenever an ability is a mind-affecting effect it's listed as such in the ability. RAW, the Evil Eye hex is not a mind-affecting effect.

Diabolist is listed as legal for play on page 30 of the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play.


Joshua J. Frost wrote:

Whenever an ability is a mind-affecting effect it's listed as such in the ability. RAW, the Evil Eye hex is not a mind-affecting effect.

Diabolist is listed as legal for play on page 30 of the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play.

Sweet, thanks Josh!


It's very important to remember that flavor text does not equal rules text. Using that as a general guideline for the future should help you adjudicate rules arguments a little more clearly and quickly.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Witch Clarification or Ruling All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.