DmRrostarr
|
Is there anything in the rules to suggest that Ranged Touch Attacks from spells do not provoke attacks of oppprtunity?
Tam
When you make a range touch attack with a spell, its all tied in one action(usually a standard action).
You cast the spell and target a creature. What would provoke the AoO is the casting of the spell itself.
Tambryn
|
My fault for not clarifying. What if you casted defensively?
Situation A: The Sorcerer casts Fireball defensively. This is not a ranged attack (well, it is not specifically labelled one under the rules) and so the spell goes off without a hitch, not provoking an AoO from the nearby enemy that threatens you.
Situation B: Cleric casts Bolt of Glory, a ranged touch attack, deffensively. So casting the spell itself does not provoke an attack of opportunity, but does focusing your attention on an enemy that is far away and paying less attention to those enemies that threaten you provoke an AoO?
Situation C: I am pretty certain that a hasted Cleric/Ranger who casts align weapon deffensively on his bow and then took a shot as his free attack, would still provoke an AoO.
I am inclined to think that ranged touch attacks would provoke an AoO seperate from the one the earn from the casting of the spell.
Tam
Celestial Healer
|
When you cast a spell that offers a ranged touch attack, the ranged touch attack is part of the casting action. Thus, if it is cast defensively, no part of the spell provokes an attack of opportunity.
On the other hand, making a ranged attack with a weapon provokes an AoO regardless of what type of action was used to make it.
| Chris P |
Situation C: I am pretty certain that a hasted Cleric/Ranger who casts align weapon deffensively on his bow and then took a shot as his free attack, would still provoke an AoO.Tam
Your situation C confuses me. It's align weapon a standard action? If so then they would cast Align weapon defensively and then the following round be able to shoot with his bow drawing an AoO if anyone is with melee of him.
Fatespinner
RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32
|
Your situation C confuses me. It's align weapon a standard action? If so then they would cast Align weapon defensively and then the following round be able to shoot with his bow drawing an AoO if anyone is with melee of him.
He mentioned that the character is hasted. I'm pretty sure he might still be running with the 3.0 version of haste which grants a character an additional standard action every round. They took that out in 3.5, but a lot of people stuck with the old ruling.
| mevers |
I will bow to the wisdom of those around me. Still seems hoaky, but bow I will.
Tam
Well, it can get even hokier (sp?)
Attacking with a Longbow while threatened in melee provokes and AoO. Makes sense as you open your flank up wide to draw and shoot.
Casting defensively a ranged touch attack does not provoke, different action, and your able to defend against the AoO.
However, shooting a crossbow while threatened DOES provoke an AoO, for what is arguably simply pointing and shooting. An action that in my mind at least, leaves you much less open than casting a spell (even defensively would).
But such are the AoO rules, and we live with them. Hopefully they get a complete overhaul in 4th Ed.