| dragonlvr |
Targets: One creature/level, no two of which can be more than 30 ft. apart
I'm going to try to explain this as best as I can. In our party the wizard tried to cast Haste expecting to catch everyone, but the DM ruled that one would be left out. The set up was like this:
The Rogue had tumbled back 20 feet behind the Wizard, everyone else was clustered around the Wizard except the Favored Soul who was flying 30 feet over head. He ruled that since there was more than 30 feet between the Rogue and the Favored Soul that one of them was not going to be affected by the spell, as per the description. I, and the Wizard, had always interpreted the targets of haste as being 30 feet between each individual recipient, not over all. As in all would be affected since there wasn't over 30 feet between the Favored Soul and the Wizard and there wasn't more than 30 feet between the Wizard and the Rogue. Am I just getting confused and reading the target description wrong for haste? Any help is appreciated.
Fatespinner
RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32
|
Am I just getting confused and reading the target description wrong for haste? Any help is appreciated.
Your DM was correct. Read the target description closely:
Targets: One creature/level, no two of which can be more than 30 ft. apart
NO TWO of which may be more than 30 ft. apart. That means that each and every creature to be affected can be no more than 30 ft. away from each other creature to be affected. An easy, if somewhat awkward, way to think about it is to imagine that the spell is a 15 ft. radius (30 ft. diameter) burst that can only affect a certain number of creatures within it (determined by caster level).
Otherwise, by your interpretation, a wizard could stand 30 ft. behind the ranger, who is standing 30 ft. behind the cleric, who is standing 30 ft. behind the fighter and cast haste to affect all of them, despite the fact that there is 90 ft. between the wizard and the fighter. It doesn't work like that. Hope this helps.
Dragonmann
|
AS further proof of the rightness of Fatespinners response, the changeling recaster PrC from Races of Eberron (and possibly still available free in WotC's preview area) has a class ability that changes the rule so it works the way you want it to.
Since it has to be changed to work that way, it normally works the other way.
Woe, that was a heck of a proof...
i need more booze
or less