
Anthony Law |

I sent this e-mail to the Sage earlier this evening.
-------------------------
I'm sure you've already been told this, but there is an error in issue 342 regarding the question about Quick Draw (the very last question).
The Sage says that "you may be confusing Quick Draw with the ability of any character with a base attack bonuse of +1 or better to draw or sheathe a weapon as a free action as part of a movement (Player's Handbook, page 142)."
In actuality, it does not state that in the PHB. While you can draw as a free action while moving, you can never sheathe while doing so. In fact, in the Rules of the Games articles on the Wizards site, it talks about the same situation and specifically states that "if you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, drawing (but not sheathing) a weapon is a nonaction that you can take along with a regular move (that is, a move action that you use to move up to your speed across the battlefield)."
http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20050628a

Thanis Kartaleon |

Also, just to get this off my chest, there was a pretty serious error in issue 337 (the Zuggtmoy issue) in which the Sage posits that it's possible to turn into a templated creature with polymorph, since apparently you can do it with shapechange.
This spell functions like polymorph, except that it enables you to assume the form of any single nonunique creature (of any type) from Fine to Colossal size. The assumed form cannot have more than your level in Hit Dice (to a maximum of 25 HD)...
This spell functions like alter self...
(second column, bottom of third paragraph) You cannot take the form of any creature with a template, even if that template doesn't change the creature type or subtype.
Since polymorph doesn't explicitly override this line from alter self, the rule stays with it. Shapechange doesn't go right out and say that you can take the form of a templated creature, but the way it is worded suggests that it can be interpreted that way.