Potion confusion...


Dungeon Magazine General Discussion


In "Racing the Snake," the PCs are given some <I>potions of disguise self</I>. Unless I'm really confused, I thought that you couldn't make such a potion: the Brew Potion feat lists the spells that can be brewed into a potion as those that "target one or more creatures." Every potion in the DMG treasure list I've looked up has a target of "touch," or "one or more creatures," or "one creature/level," etc, not "Personal." None of the spells with a personal range are in the list of potions, as far as I can tell.

Did I miss a FAQ or Sage Advice or something? I remember looking this up for a player once who wanted to give everyone <I>potions of alter self</I>, and I turned him down. I'm starting to feel bad about that...

Contributor

No, I believe you are correct Bram. Spells with a range of "personal" aren't valid targets for potions. Otherwise there's very little reason fighter-types wouldn't run around with a case of potions of true strike. ;)


Zherog wrote:
No, I believe you are correct Bram. Spells with a range of "personal" aren't valid targets for potions. Otherwise there's very little reason fighter-types wouldn't run around with a case of potions of true strike. ;)

Correct. To give everyone a reference, DMG 3.5 on page 286, second paragraph under "Creating Potion": "Spells with a range of personal cannot be made into potions, so spells such as shield never exist in potion form."


Bram Blackfeather wrote:
In "Racing the Snake," the PCs are given some <I>potions of disguise self</I>. Unless I'm really confused, I thought that you couldn't make such a potion: the Brew Potion feat lists the spells that can be brewed into a potion as those that "target one or more creatures." Every potion in the DMG treasure list I've looked up has a target of "touch," or "one or more creatures," or "one creature/level," etc, not "Personal." None of the spells with a personal range are in the list of potions, as far as I can tell.

I suppose the easiest fix would be a wand with a few charges left in it. Although if your party doesn't have an arcane spell caster...

Paizo Employee Creative Director

The easiest fix is an elixir of disguise self. Does the same thing as the illegal potion, but it's a wondrous item.


James Jacobs wrote:
The easiest fix is an elixir of disguise self. Does the same thing as the illegal potion, but it's a wondrous item.

Ah-ha. *rubs hands together with glee* That'll do it.

The main reason I was thinking about this was trying to find a way for the spellcasters of the group to hand over a portable item that non-spellcasters could <I>disguise self</I> themselves with. I like that.

Or just make a <I>Hat of Disguise</I>, I guess...

Community / Forums / Archive / Paizo / Books & Magazines / Dungeon Magazine / General Discussion / Potion confusion... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion