| Marc Chin |
When I empower a lightning bolt, I have to use up a 5 level spell slot. Is the DC for the empowered bolt two levels higher also, or is it still the same DC for a regular 3 level spell?
I believe that the DC would be higher, matching the prepared spell's level (5); it makes sense that the empowered spell is, in all ways, a higher level spell.
For example, if there were such a thing as a "Greater Sleep" spell that affected any number of Hit Dice and was a fourth level spell, of course the DC would be as a 4th level spell rather than as a 1st level spell, due to the enhanced effect and greater power infused into the spell.
M
| Marc Chin |
Heh. Of course, the flip side is that every time I post something here that's rule-related, I get all paranoid that I'm mis-remembering how the rule works.
Turns out, D&D is a complicated game.
There used to be a time when I thought that "Squad Leader" or "The Longest Day" would be the pinnacle of gaming complexity...
Goes to show how things change.
M
| I’ve Got Reach |
Turns out, D&D is a complicated game.
I had that very conversation yesterday. A friend asked me "Can I charge and tumble at the same time?"
As players and DMs become more savvy, and more options become available, the players tend to push the envelope. The core rules don't cover most of the leading edge situations we encounter on a weekly basis; we're beyond those issues.
Example: Anti-magic field. Wizards customer service ruled that fire from a fireball detonated outside of an anti-magic field (but within the burst radius of the individual within the field) would not be affected by the magic-based flame. However, if a mage polymorphed into a huge monster (15'reach), the mage could sock (slam or claw) the individual in the middle of the anti-magic field without reverting to original form since "most" of the body is outside the field. Hmmmm.