thewamp's page

Organized Play Member. 9 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 3 Organized Play characters.




I'm interested in posting on a free blog a 2e conversion of one of the old dungeon magazine APs. This would contain conversion material only (eg: not enough for someone to run the AP off of). If that isn't possible, I'm interested in doing that for a pathfinder AP.

So I understand that the APs are not covered under the Community Use Policy. But I've also noticed some AP conversions in the Community Use registry, which use proper names and location names (such as "Blog Under a Wanderin' Star", a conversion of Legacy of Fire).

What are the allowances and limitations in doing this for APs in general?

Are those limitations different for the dungeon magazine APs? I understand that the IP gets a bit complicated in the case of those properties and would likely strive to convert all wizards IP into similarly themed paizo IP, if this is possible.

(And lastly, is this the right place to put this question? I couldn't tell if this forum or the licensing email was the better bet).


Hi all,

So I'm trying to get my head around the grab rules with regards to creature body parts. The section at the end of the bestiary says

"The creature is grabbed by whichever body part the monster attacked with, and that body part can’t be used to Strike creatures until the grab is ended."

That's pretty straightforward, but when you look through the monster entries, it doesn't list the number of limbs a creature has that could do a given strike attack. Let's look at Krakens as an example, which have 8 tentacles, 2 arms and a bite, per pf1e lore. However, from the 2e statblock, there's no way to know how many tentacles the Kraken has (right??). So if a Kraken grabs a PC with its tentacle strike, does this mean it can't use any tentacles to make strikes until the grab is ended (it shouldn't, the rule states that only the "body part" is unavailable, not the group of related body parts)? Furthermore, the Kraken has a double strike ability that lets it attack with two tentacles and then grab anyone hit with both of those, which implies each tentacle is holding an individual PC.

Or we meant to intuit - perhaps from the picture - how many of each type of limb it has? It's pretty easy to count the Veiled Master's tentacles from the image, but that's a silly way to go about things (what if the image is vague about the number of limbs like it is with the Kraken).

Help me Paizo Forums, you're my only hope.

TL;DR: I'm hoping for a RAW answer to the question of if a monster that has, say, multiple tentacles loses access to all its tentacles when grabbing one creature or just loses access to one of them. And if it's the latter, I'm hoping for a RAW way to figure out how many tentacles that monster has.