Thedan

skoormit's page

Organized Play Member. 9 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 6 Organized Play characters.


RSS

Dark Archive

If you don't mind the [Evil] descriptor of the spell, or detecting as evil for the duration of the spell (1 minute), a wand or potion of Infernal Healing should serve all your dhampir-healing needs.

edit: At least, all of your between-encounter dhampir-healing needs.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
SeraphX2 wrote:


And on top of that, do you have to leave a slot open to be able to do this, just in the hopes you come across something useful that happens to end up on the Chronicle sheet? Because, typically, the rule is, at each level you learn X new spells.

Keep in mind that there is a difference between "spells known" and "list of legal spells."

When a spontaneous caster gains a "known spell," the caster chooses that spell from the "list of legal spells" for that caster's class.

In the Core Campaign, the "list of legal spells" for a spontaneous caster is the complete list of spells available to that class that are found in the source books allowed in the Core Campaign.

John's blog post above provides spontaneous casters a method for adding spells to their "list of legal spells," not for adding spells directly to their list of "spells known."

To "learn" the spell (and therefore be able to cast it), you must select it as a learned spell (thereby adding it to your list of "spells known") when you gain a spell slot of the appropriate spell level.

Dark Archive

Fromper wrote:
Kyle Baird wrote:
Fromper wrote:

alchemical items (mostly Baird Spray, at this point)

Is that like Deer Antler Spray or more like Vermin Repellent?
I'm thinking repellant, but I'm also not the one who originally said that.

It was Zandari. I'm pretty sure he uses it to improve the aroma of his baird. Sometimes I can't tell if he's in character or out.

Dark Archive

Ezren, and it's not even close. Fabulous detail. And a wayfinder. Look closely and you will see the Charm of Making on hems, shoulders (knees and toes? knees and toes!).

Dark Archive

Thank you all for your responses, but I'm still a little in the dark.
Maybe if I revise the question?

Suppose a Rogue/7 with an Int of 17 wants to use UMD to activate a Scroll of Limited Wish (CL13).

The rogue attempts a UMD check vs DC33 (20 + scroll's caster level).

She gets a 35 on the UMD check.

Since she has the required Int score to cast a 7th level Wizard spell, she may now use the scroll "as if [she] had [Limited Wish] spell on [her] class spell list."

To use a scroll, she must make a caster level check against a DC of the caster level of the scroll plus one.

What is her caster level?
Is it:

A) 15 (her emulated level of Wizard per her UMD result)
b) 13 (the level she was attempting to emulate)
c) 7 (her character level)
d) 0 (you can't emulate a caster level???)
e) Another UMD check, minus 20
f) something else entirely

To put it as simply as possible, when using UMD to activate a scroll, how do I determine my caster level?

Thanks again, everyone.

Dark Archive

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Suppose a Wizard/7 is in possession of a Scroll of Limited Wish (CL 13).

She can attempt to activate the scroll without using UMD, but she must make a caster level check vs DC 14.

Can she instead make a DC 33 UMD check to emulate a Wizard/13, and therefore not need to make a caster level check?

The UMD rules text in question is:

PFSRD wrote:
Emulate a Class Feature: Sometimes you need to use a class feature to activate a magic item. In this case, your effective level in the emulated class equals your Use Magic Device check result minus 20....

Dark Archive

meabolex wrote:

If a non-magical source of light is outside the spell effect, it is not affected by the spell.

So you're saying that every time you cast a darkness spell, it affects the sun? I don't think the sun is in range.

Light *sources* are not affected by the spell at all. Only *light itself* is affected, specifically the light level inside the spell's radius.

The spell description explicitly states that the light level inside the spell's effect is not increased by non-magical light sources. The spell description does not constrain that effect based on the location of the light source.

Dark Archive

meabolex wrote:
Non-magical light sources *outside* of a darkness spell effect function normally.

They function normally outside the darkness effect. No one is arguing they do not. But the spell itself explicitly states that nonmagical sources of light do not increase the light level inside the spell's effect.

meabolex wrote:
The light that the light sources give out outside the darkness spell effect is modified by the darkness spell effect. But that light is considered "ambient" light outside the spell effect.

Wait, the light outside the spell effect is modified? Why? How?

Also, the word "ambient" does not appear in the spell description, nor in the Vision and Light rules section. Are you referring to some mechanic for "ambient" light somewhere else in the rules?

Dark Archive

Darkness spell description wrote:
"Nonmagical sources of light, such as torches and lanterns, do not increase the light level in an area of darkness."

This sentence applies to all nonmagical sources of light, not just sources within the area of darkness.

No matter where the source of light is, it does not increase the light level in an area of darkness.