Hoary Muntjac

midknight's page

Organized Play Member. 111 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 2 Organized Play characters.



Liberty's Edge

Would it be correct (rules-wise) for a Dragon Disciple to make a full attack with a two-handed weapon, then drop it as a free action, grow claws and teeth as another free action and attack with all 3 of them as secondary natural attacks?

What about the other way round with quick draw? :-m

What about full attack with armor spikes, then 3 natural secondary attacks? :-m

Liberty's Edge

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

That's a quick one... is somebody under a Displacement effect not sneak-able?

As a side note, does it prevent an AoO as well?

Relevant rules:

Sneak attack wrote:


The rogue must be able to see the target well enough to pick out a vital spot and must be able to reach such a spot. A rogue cannot sneak attack while striking a creature with concealment.
Combat wrote:


Total Concealment:
You can't execute an attack of opportunity against an opponent with total concealment, even if you know what square or squares the opponent occupies.
Displacement wrote:


The creature benefits from a 50% miss chance as if it had total concealment. Unlike actual total concealment, displacement does not prevent enemies from targeting the creature normally.

Liberty's Edge

Rules state only one ring works in each hand, so if you put a third ring it doesn't have any effect.

What kind of action would it be to switch the ring you are using?

I mean, imagine you are wearing a ring on one hand, you get its effect, then you wear a second ring on the same hand that doesn't work. Then, in the middle of combat you want to switch to your second ring. You'd have to put the first one out then in, right? What kind of action would that be? Any idea if this was adressed somehow in 3.5?

Liberty's Edge

One quick question. When hasted and 2-weapon fighting, in a full attack do you gain one adittional attack with each weapon or only with the main hand?

Haste wrote:


When making a full attack action, a hasted creature may make one extra attack with any weapon he is holding.
Quote:

I'd go with just the main hand, but wanted to make sure...

If you had 2 weapons with the 'speed' property you would have one extra attack with each, wouldn't you? what about haste and a 'speed' weapon in the off-hand? :-m

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I know that this combo was legal in 3.5, has anything changed in PFRPG to avoid it? I've looked around and have not found anything yet...

Seems like armor spikes can still be used as an off-hand weapon while leaving both hands free for any two-handed weapon...

Liberty's Edge

Some quick questions from yesterday's game. We took some decisions 'on the fly', but I'd like to know if there are some rules I missed making it a bit more clear...

- Jump checks. With a running jump check of 10-14 (10 feet jump) how many squares do you jump? I mean, if you started the jump on numeric keyboard '3' would you land on '9' (10 feet movement) or would you land on '*' (10 feet gap). We used the former.

- Entangle spell. Does it require vegetation to work or would it work in the middle of a dungeon, making plants appear. We used the former (need some form of vegetation already present).

- Tower shield + bull rush. Would a tower shield, used to grant full cover, protect against a bull rush attempt?. We said not.

Thanks!

Liberty's Edge

Coming from the Wizard to Dragon Disciple thread, I'll try to summarize the questions that arised from the extra casting of a spell without preparation ability, so hopefully we can get some official answers from Jason or James... for opinions or going on with the discussion, please use the other thread. Just questions that need official answer here, please.


  • Does the casting granted by the arcane bonded item count as 'casting of a spell without preparation' needed for some prestige classes (as Dragon Disciple)?
  • Does it count as a spontaneous casting slot (for feats/prc/etc.)?
  • Arcane Bond is quoted as (Ex or Sp). Is that spell casting as a spell-like ability (if so, it would need no components of any kind!) or is that an extraordinary ability? If so, which part is the spell-like in Arcane Bond?

Liberty's Edge

Just a thought...

Now the requisite for dragon disciple "Ability to cast 1st-level arcane spells without preparation." could be fulfilled by the Wizard's Arcane Bond if a bonded object is chosen?

"A bonded object can be used once per day to cast any one spell that the wizard has in his spellbook and is capable of casting, even if the spell is not prepared."