mickcatron's page

Goblin Squad Member. Organized Play Member. 15 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.


RSS

Silver Crusade

I've been stuck with the same hands as Tracker1 has indicated. Usually I just discard to get the blessings rolling. I have Father Z too, so potentially I could get something back if I really needed it.

Anyway, I went with the magic feat. I've run into enough of the baddies that have the "magic trait to deafeat" that I figured having it all the time would free that amulet spot up for something better if it comes along, and it is still valuable now because of the extra d4.

I did struggle with the decision though, hope it wasn't the wrong one. My group will be playing the final senario shortly and then we'll be waiting to see what kind of trouble the next adventure will provide.

Silver Crusade

You guys are right, I forgot that the power doesn't mention Divine it just so happens that the d10 is the divien die for her.

Thanks for the help. Still a little confusing, but I think I get it. Even if I don't, at least I know what to do :)

Silver Crusade

Also, let's take Seoni. Her power specifically says she gets to discard a card to use her Arcane for her attack. So it is her Arcane, nothing is converted.

Now Lini is discard a card to change the strength die to the divine die (d10).

Why word these powers different if there wasn't a different effect?

Silver Crusade

Tracker1 wrote:

From Amulet of might fists thread

Tracker1 wrote:
Not an Amulet of Fists question, but emerged from the topic.

If Sajan uses his power to roll dex die rather than str. Which Blessing is the correct one to play Gorum or Erastril?

Thanks, and I hope this is also covered in the Faq, i've seen it come up in multiple threads at BGG forums as well.

Vic replied:

Yeah, we'll have that in the FAQ. "Dexterity-based check" means "a check using your Dexterity die," so he wants Erastil, not Gorum.

Tracker1 - so based on what you found you changed your assumption. I think this is very muddy water, even with Vic's answer. I can't give an example right now, but I swear there have been situations where a converted skill die was still that skill - I thought this was simple mistake, but obviously not.

Silver Crusade

Mestrahd wrote:

I posted this in the FAQ thread and it was deemed unworthy so I'll post it here.

To my understanding, any unarmed combat check is a STR check. Sajan's power allows you to replace the STR die with the DEX die, but it does not change the TYPE of check. Therefore, the Blessing that adds 2 dice to a DEX Combat check should NOT work, correct?

Furthermore, the Blessing that adds 2 STR dice to a Combat check should add 2d6 which get automatically converted into 2d10, correct?

However, what about Blessing of Lamashtu? That adds 2 dice to any check to defeat a monster. Does that add 2d6 or 2d10?

And since it is a STR check at heart, this is why he starts with the Amulet of Fists, right?

I can foresee these questions coming up in my group as one of them chose Sajan.

I just realized this exact situation last night while playing. I had aquired the Dex based blessing (forget the name) and Lamashtu during other adventures figuring they would be great for Sajan.

Then, last night the stregth based blessing was on top of the discard pile while I was fighting a monster and I had a BoTG in had. It was at that moment that I realized that I had (I think) been playing the Dex blessing incorrectly. I believe Sajan is still using his stregth and not his Dex when he uses his power.

Love to have an official ruling on this, because it would make too much sense if he had two blessing that where totally awesome for him this early in the game.

Silver Crusade

I believe you can use EACH power once. It is one CARD TYPE per check.

Silver Crusade

RDewsbery wrote:

Power 1 - recharge the card from your hand to the bottom of your deck to prevent one point of Combat damage (and only combat damage).

Power 2 - Banish the card to reduce damage (of any type) to 0; bury the card instead of banishing it if proficient with that type of armour.

Power 3 (and I didn't get that it was a completely different power at first look) - when resetting your hand at the end of your turn, you can always discard cards (effectively burning life force/hit points for a better hand of cards for next turn). But if proficient with this type of armour, instead of either holding it or discarding it at the end of your turn, you can recharge it at the bottom of your deck; it's no longer in your hand available for use, but it hasn't cost you one card of "life force" either, and you might get the chance to draw it again later in the scenario. Worth doing if you have a second armour card in hand already, or think that taking damage next turn is unlikely.

So you're saying it's just an automatic recharge card if you want it to... interesting.

Definitely would like to get this one explained in more detail by Mike or Vic as our Fighter is currently using it.

Silver Crusade

1) Just wanted to double check that this ok for the Druid, I'm pretty sure it is. The Druid reveals an animal for the d4, then the Druid discards same animal card to convert to the d10... that is fine correct?

2) I know there is eratta on Ambush that it gets banished, but do other barriers such as the blade one (sorry don't remember the name) get suffled backed in when undefeated, I'm assuming they do as it would represent a blockage that you are having trouble getting around.

Silver Crusade

I read the card like this:

Power 1 self explanatory.

Power 2 if you a proficient you are get to bury the card to take 0 damage, otherwise you have to banish the card to take 0 damage.

Power 3 Also, if you are proficient, you get to recharge the card AFTER you reset your hand.

My logic was it was worded like that so that the card could not save you from death. So, if you were in battle and you need to recharge that card during the reset to stay alive, it would NOt have been there - hence you die. If you're still alive after the reset, you get to put it back on the bottom.

Seems some more clarification on this one might be in order. I'm not sure that link really cleared it up for me.

Silver Crusade

First, if a person has two cure cards in their hand, can they use one another person at their location and then use one on themselves, or does that violate the 1 card type rule?

Second, when I started playing the game I was taught if you flip over the Blessing deck card and it matches the top card on the Blessing Deck discard pile, you get to recharge that blessing. Now that I've been playing the game and have read the Blessing closer, I believe that is incorrect and that the recharge mechanism only applies if the card is being played by a player?

Silver Crusade

1) Blessing of the Gods CAN be played on other peoples turn.

2) The think you might be mixing a couple of situations in the next one, if you don't beat the henchmen, the cards stay. In the beginning senarios, you wouldn't have a villian and a henchman UNLESS the villian had escaped there.

3) Not exactly sure what you're asking here.

4) Many of the Allies allow you to explore again on your turn which is very useful. But, yes, you have to discard down, or draw up to your hand size at the end of your turn. It does help to have a good "pot" of extra cards when rebuilding your deck.

5) True, if it says "combat damage" then only combat damage... some items just say "damage"

6) There are some posts about creating characters, but the designers did mention that is probably the most difficult thing to design.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

No I think the point of the situation is just to encounter the monster, not really focus on if you still have the cards. The monster shows up no matter what, the card is just for reference.

Silver Crusade

Ok, my group has been playing for a couple of weeks now and we think we may have been playing this incorrectly.

This is from page 12 in the rulebook.

Summoning and Adding Cards
Sometimes you will be told to summon a card and encounter it, or
to add a card to a deck. When this happens, retrieve the card from
the box. If you need to summon or add a number of cards and there
aren’t enough copies of that card in the box, the current player
decides how to distribute the cards that are there; ignore the rest.

In the case of a card that says EACH player summons such and such a monster and has to encounter it, we were just retrieving one card and passing it around for each player to fight. We are pretty sure there was at least one situation where there would have not been enough of the particular monster type for each player to have fought it.

So, my question is has anyone else encountered this problem and how did you resolve? According to the rules above, or just similar to the way I stated we were playing.

I can kind of see it going either way. I imagine when I (now) read the rules that it is an ambush situation and every available monster is rushing in to fight at the same time; hence if there isn't enough, there isn't enough.

On the other hand, maybe the intention, at least in the case of monster encounters, was to make it a much more difficult situation and everyone should be fighting regardless of the fact that there might not be enough cards... you can always imagine the monster.

Silver Crusade

Thanks

Silver Crusade

I don't recall seeing this in the rules, and I'm assuming it's ok to do (at least my group has been playing it this way), that you can choose not to roll for a recharge check if you want to.

This is maily focused towards Lem after using Cure. If it gets recharged you have to wait to get access again. If you already have another spell in hand you can just "fail" and wait until next turn to get it back.

Anyone see any problem with that?