A druid is wild shaped as a baboon and has a gold nodule ioun stone (Common) active. She wishes to activate a wand of cure light wounds that someone has just passed to her. The wand's command word is "gargle-hope-cheese". Wild Shape:
A druid loses her ability to speak while in animal form because she is limited to the sounds that a normal, untrained animal can make, but she can communicate normally with other animals of the same general grouping as her new form. Tongues:
This spell grants the creature touched the ability to speak and understand the language of any intelligent creature, whether it is a racial tongue or a regional dialect. The subject can speak only one language at a time, although it may be able to understand several languages. Ioun Stone, Gold Nodule:
This stone grants you the ability to comprehend, speak, read, and write a single language.
CONSTRUCTION REQUIREMENTS ...Spells - tongues... Spell Trigger:
No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. So, here are my questions:
Inspired Greatness wrote: Choose one spell you can cast. From now on, you always cast this spell at +1 caster level. Lightbringer wrote: Elves with this racial trait are immune to light-based blindness and dazzle effects, and are treated as one level higher when determining the effects of any light-based spell or effect they cast... One is an unnamed bonus, and one is not a bonus but a direct increase. They're also from different sources. So, yes, they both stack. The black raven wrote: untyped AND not coming both from traits. Actually, I disagree on this one. From what I've read, bonuses stack so long as they are 1)not from the same source, and 2)are not typed or are of different types. The "not coming from both traits" rule you mention is from the PF SRD. D20 PF SRD - Traits wrote: Many traits grant a new type of bonus: a 'trait' bonus. Trait bonuses do not stack—they're intended to give you a slight edge over the non-PCs of the world, not a secret backdoor way to focus all your traits on one type of bonus to gain an unseemly advantage over the rules. It's certainly possible, for example, that somewhere down the line, a “Courageous” trait might be on the list of dwarf race traits, but just because this trait's on the dwarf race traits list and the basic combat traits list doesn't mean you're any more brave if you choose both than if you choose only one. Nearly every bonus from traits is listed as a "trait bonus", so the general rule of thumb is that traits don't stack. This is consistent with the general Pathfinder rule that most named bonuses (competence, morale, insight) do not stack with themselves. The Courageous example, which is a +2 "trait" bonus, emphasizes the point. So, if you happen to find two *unrelated* traits, one of which doesn't add a "trait" bonus, you can stack a little bit. Here's one:
These follow the proper rules:
That's my opinion on the matter. There's room for a different interpretation, but there's no official ruling I've yet seen released in errata or FAQs to discount such the trait combination. And hey, if you reeeeally want to burn your backstory to get a +1 Knowledge (arcana) check, I wouldn't argue such a trifle.
The description of the alternate gnome racial feature, "pyromaniac", states that the +1 effective level bonus (for the strength of powers, not access to powers) applies to fire descriptor spells, Fire domain powers, the fire elemental bloodline, revelations of the oracle flame mystery, and alchemist bombs that deal fire damage. Would it also apply to the Fire Elementalist wizard's powers? It does not say so specifically, but it seems to follow the same theme and I'm wondering if it was simply an accidental omission.
I've been with Pathfinder Society since GenCon 2009, and got my player number from them. I hadn't had a chance to play Pathfinder until recently and just found out that either I didn't register at the time or my registration didn't go through. I've long since lost my card with the confirmation number, so I can't register the player number online. Is there a way to fix this problem? |
