![]()
![]()
![]() Dragonborn3 wrote:
From the PRD: If two or more combatants have the same initiative check result, the combatants who are tied act in order of total initiative modifier (highest first). If there is still a tie, the tied characters should roll to determine which one of them goes before the other.![]()
![]() Okay, I have not read all of the thread so I apologize if I repeat something already said. Perhaps because I love Shadowrun point buy access to magic and I love 2ed kits and Skills & Powers and the new Archtypes, I think I would be satisfied on the "Mage Knight" front by using the following Fighter Archtype: (A similar one could easily be drawn up for a Wizard-influenced Archtype) Oathsworn or Bloodline Adept:
Arcane Warrior: At 1st level the Oathsworn gain Arcane Strike as a bonus feat. Unfocused training: Oathsworn levels do not count as Fighter levels when determining eligibility for feats. Oathbound: The oathsworn at some point made a pact with otherwordly forces and were granted access to special arcane talents. Oathsworn select a Sorceror Bloodline and advance in that bloodline using their Oathsworn levels. This ability replaces Bonus feats and Weapon Training. Spells: Oathsworn advance as Sorcerors however they do not gain any spells known. They may only cast bloodline spells. Arcane Armor Training: At 3rd level an Oathsworn ignores the first 10% of Arcane Armor spell failure. This value increases by another 10% every four levels beyond 3rd level to a max of 50% at level 19. Note: this does not replace normal Armor Training. It gives more flavor, and definitely has a limited magical scope. ![]()
![]() Otm-Shank wrote:
OTM Shank:
Good call, I've been playing that wrong all along. I'll explore my other options. Thanks! I'll make an avatar for Will shortly. ![]()
![]() hogarth wrote:
Hey, it made me chuckle after reading the rest of the thread started to make my head hurt. I appreciated the absurdity of your proposed solution, given the absurdity of the initial argument which basically boils down to... "I want to trip the prone guy!" At which point everyone around the table should look at the player and give him their best incredulous stares. I don't see any plausibility. Video games are not a good source of plausibility. ![]()
![]() hogarth wrote:
+1. Awesome response, equally absurd and also not addressed in the rules :) ![]()
![]() I am not sure where you got your poison details from or what poison you are using but the only reference I can find in the playtest PDF is Poison Bomb:
Poison Bombs (Ex): Whenever the ninja
throws a smoke bomb, she can decide to include 1 dose of any inhaled poison she possesses. This poison affects all creatures in the smoke and lasts as long as the smoke lasts. She must pay for the poison normally. The ninja must have the smoke bombs ninja trick before selecting this trick. So I am pretty sure it is treated like mundane poison in the poison rules section, because it is mundane poison purchased and added to the bomb for effect. ![]()
![]() Poison section from the PRD:
Contact poisons are contracted the moment someone touches the poison with his bare skin. Such poisons can be used as injury poisons. Contact poisons usually have an onset time of 1 minute and a frequency of 1 minute. Ingested poisons are contracted when a creature eats or drinks the poison. Ingested poisons usually have an onset time of 10 minutes and a frequency of 1 minute. Injury poisons are primarily contracted through the attacks of certain creatures and through weapons coated in the toxin. Injury poisons do not usually have an onset time and have a frequency of 1 round. Inhaled poisons are contracted the moment a creature enters an area containing such poisons. Most inhaled poisons fill a volume equal to a 10-foot cube per dose. Creatures can attempt to hold their breaths while inside to avoid inhaling the toxin. Creatures holding their breaths receive a 50% chance of not having to make a Fortitude save each round. See the rules for holding your breath and suffocation in Environment. Note that a character that would normally suffocate while attempting to hold its breath instead begins to breathe normally again.
Unlike other afflictions, multiple doses of the same poison stack. Poisons delivered by injury and contact cannot inflict more than one dose of poison at a time, but inhaled and ingested poisons can inflict multiple doses at once. Each additional dose extends the total duration of the poison (as noted under frequency) by half its total duration. In addition, each dose of poison increases the DC to resist the poison by +2. This increase is cumulative. Multiple doses do not alter the cure conditions of the poison, and meeting these conditions ends the affliction for all the doses. For example, a character is bit three times in the same round by a trio of Medium monstrous spiders, injecting him with three doses of Medium spider venom. The unfortunate character must make a DC 18 Fortitude save for the next 8 rounds. Fortunately, just one successful save cures the character of all three doses of the poison. It's pretty cut and dry that it does indeed stack. How it stacks and how many doses consumed is really up to the DM. But if you failed the save and were still in the cloud when your next save comes around. I am pretty certain it would at least warrant a DC save +2 for each failed save while in the cloud. However, one successful save would reset the DC to the base DC. Per Cloudkill: It doesn't technically say it is a poison. It does say the fumes are poisonous. A bit of word play :). Regardless, since it specifically states how the spell is handled I would think it supersedes the general poison rules. Edit: Now that I think about it... I think multiple doses from an inhaled poison probably mean if someone threw two poison bombs at the same spot, thus increasing the concentration of the poison in the cloud meaning every round would be two doses inhaled. If so that makes a made poison bomber that keep blasting people stuck in the same cloud is very painful... Each additional bomb would up the DC by 2. Edit #2: Sorry, is the poison bomb a magical effect? Or explained in detail like Cloudkill? Lemme check. ![]()
![]() Quandary, it functions as fog cloud. Meaning it emanates from the intersection, it is not like Flamestrike. If you have anymore questions the ruling and it's supporting analysis is here: Smoke Bomb Ruling
![]()
![]() I apologize for the confusion I caused, I hope the next bout will be less confusing and I look forward to participating in it. I still have a lot of concepts I still would like to try out. Latrine worked well, until I made a couple of stupic mistakes, but that's how these things go :). First time playing a witch, and I can see how they make very strong battlefield control characters. ![]()
![]() Quandary wrote:
I will apologize for butting in. But I was annoyed at your action as I veiwed it as unsportsmanlike and dishonest. Regardless, I am sorry I interfered.![]()
![]() Quandary wrote:
Instead of making a decision for him that hurts a member of his team, just ask him to specify an intersection. ![]()
![]() @Quandary: Hyundai is completely engulfed in the fog Wraithstrike already ruled how the Smoke Bombs work here. Although, he does have LoS out of the cloud albeit with a 20% miss chance. And 'choosing' the intersection for the smoke bomb that produces a friendly fire is NOT 'choosing' a reasonable intersection. If anything you should ask Deverau what intersection he would like to target. I will change the cloud to a 'reasonable' intersection that will NOT cause a friendly fire. Rallick you do not have to roll saves for the lion. EDIT: The intersection I chose for Deverau is W7-X6. ![]()
![]() MoFiddy's Gladiator wrote:
I agree, it seems that for Arena matches, 2v2 or 3v3 is best. ![]()
![]() The cloud fort saves were not an issue. People either rolled them once for their first round, or waited until their initiative step to roll. This is one area I would deviate from the caster's initiative rules just for the sake of the flow of a PBP. If we stop the Arena every time my initiative came around we would probably still be in round 2 :) ![]()
![]() Rallick doesn't need to make a fly check, neither does Garinol.
fly skill in the prd:
Collision While Flying: If you are using wings to fly and you collide with an object equal to your size or larger, you must immediately make a DC 25 Fly check to avoid plummeting to the ground, taking the appropriate falling damage. Since the fort check was never ruled on and a failed acrobatics check clearly costs nothing... I guess I'll wait for the next bout. ![]()
![]() Quote: Shield Fighter (Ex): At 5th level, a shielded fighter gains a +1 bonus on attack and damage rolls when making a shield bash. These bonuses increase by +1 every four levels beyond 5th. With a full attack action, a shielded fighter may alternate between using his weapon or his shield for each attack. This action does not grant additional attacks or incur penalties as two-weapon fighting does. This ability replaces weapon training 1. This is pretty cut and dry to me. A full attack action can be used normally or with the Two-Weapon Fighting rules subset. As a shielded fighter you make a full round attack with both your shield(OH) and your primary weapon(MH). This is the standard rules. Now along comes an exception in the bolded section of the quotes above. Since, Two-Weapon Fighting is only a caveat under the Full-Round Attack rules this special rule applies on top of it and provides an exception to the above quoted Two-Weapon Fighting rules. In other words, You are attacking with a MH and an OH weapon initially and then using your special rule to substitute your MH attacks with Shield Attacks. I am pretty certain in general special rules text trumps, standard rules text. For example, dismissing a spell is a standard action according to the magic rules. If a spell says you can dismiss as a free, swift, or move action then the text trumps the general rule. In the OP case, the special text already includes the possibility of applying this to Two-Weapon Fighting in stating "With a full attack action," (Full attack actions include Two-Weapon Fighting). ![]()
![]() Quandary wrote: Yeah, Rallick has my idea exactly... It was more something like ´why NOT jump up first?´. I never imagined Hyundai would or could make a 10´ jump, I was planning to scramble over the edge, but didn´t even know if that required any check in the first place (given the relative proportios involved), or what DC it would be, so was just expecting Wraith to tell me if it was more than DC 14 (auto-pass for Hyundai currently). Anyhow, wierd it got this complicated, I can update my action otherwise in a bit. That would be a climb check (You can flavor text climb checks too) with it's own baggage, I.e. Being flat-footed and greatly reduced speed... But that I guess is for another discussion. Assuming you do not need to make another Fort save from the poison cloud, you have slain the cook. I will add my post once that is determined. I am not at my usual computer so I cannot access the PDF. ![]()
![]() If you are trying to climb(jump up grab on the ledge and pull yourself up), you should make a climb check and the requisite 1/4 move, or half move if you take a -5. By using acrobatics you demonstrate an attempt at jumping cleanly from one level to another. Jumping cleanly means your feet expect you to be at a destination other than their original location.. meaning you run a risk of losing your balance and falling on your tookus. ![]()
![]() Quandary wrote:
Yikes, this is interesting... Bolded sections. Acrobatics from the PRD:
Finally, you can use the Acrobatics skill to make jumps or to soften a fall. The base DC to make a jump is equal to the distance to be crossed (if horizontal) or four times the height to be reached (if vertical). These DCs double if you do not have at least 10 feet of space to get a running start. The only Acrobatics modifiers that apply are those concerning the surface you are jumping from. If you fail this check by 4 or less, you can attempt a DC 20 Reflex save to grab hold of the other side after having missed the jump. If you fail by 5 or more, you fail to make the jump and fall (or land prone, in the case of a vertical jump). Creatures with a base land speed above 30 feet receive a +4 racial bonus on Acrobatics checks made to jump for every 10 feet of their speed above 30 feet. Creatures with a base land speed below 30 feet receive a –4 racial bonus on Acrobatics checks made to jump for every 10 feet of their speed below 30 feet. No jump can allow you to exceed your maximum movement for the round. For a running jump, the result of your Acrobatics check indicates the distance traveled in the jump (and if the check fails, the distance at which you actually land and fall prone). Halve this result for a standing long jump to determine where you land. So your DC was 80, you definitely failed by 5 or more and fall down prone. I assume you would have another move action to get back up... ![]()
![]() Rallick Nom wrote:
Also, I am pretty certain you are not on top of the wall, as that would require a significantly higher check(DC 40 jump check) because the walls are 10' high, unless I am mistaken. I am not sure what failing a jump check does... what kind of actions it consumes.EDIT: Yep, walls are 10' high link ![]()
![]() Deverau "Poisonous Shade" wrote: How are we doing concealment roll? I'm making a ranged attack so it's a 20% concealment. I roll the d100% and as long as its above 20? Im waiting but taking another action just in case. You mean for Hyundai's attacks of opportunity? He will get two if he has Combat Reflexes(for which he gets to roll). #1: Threatened movement(you can avoid with a Acrobatics roll at a -10, because you are making a full move)#2: Making a ranged attack in melee. Also remember to throw your bomb into that square is only an AC 5 ranged touch attack... I don't know why you didn't do that with the first bomb :). Additionally, you cannot take a 5' step and a normal move. But you only moved 30', so I think you are fine. ![]()
![]() NPC d'Eben wrote: Despite Quandry's valiant efforts to salvage Kaze's actions this round, I think I'm going to stick to it. We have a guy who's crazy and stupid with no ranks in spellcraft. I figure that warrants sticking with the bonehead move, even if the bonehead move was actually on the part of the player. I wouldn't worry about it, not sure if I would have let him make the knowledge check anyway given he is confused... This round he gets to roll to see what the big man does :).
Confused: Confused: A confused creature is mentally befuddled and cannot act normally. A confused creature cannot tell the difference between ally and foe, treating all creatures as enemies. Allies wishing to cast a beneficial spell that requires a touch on a confused creature must succeed on a melee touch attack. If a confused creature is attacked, it attacks the creature that last attacked it until that creature is dead or out of sight. Roll on the following table at the beginning of each confused subject's turn each round to see what the subject does in that round.
A confused creature who can't carry out the indicated action does nothing but babble incoherently. Attackers are not at any special advantage when attacking a confused creature. Any confused creature who is attacked automatically attacks its attackers on its next turn, as long as it is still confused when its turn comes. Note that a confused creature will not make attacks of opportunity against anything that it is not already devoted to attacking (either because of its most recent action or because it has just been attacked). ![]()
![]() Quandary wrote:
I would put it in one of the Ultimate Combat threads, so maybe they can just clarify the wording of the ability for the final release. The ambiguity is not surprising for a playtest class :) ![]()
![]() @Quandary
Smoke Bomb:
Smoke Bombs (Ex): This ability allows a ninja to throw
a smoke bomb that creates a cloud of smoke with a 15- foot radius. This acts like the smoke from a smokestick. The ninja can center this smoke on herself, or throw the bomb as a ranged touch attack with a range of 20 feet. Using this ability is a standard action. The ninja can use this ability once per day for free. Each additional use of this ability uses up 1 ki point. Smokestick:
Smokestick: This alchemically treated wooden stick instantly creates thick, opaque smoke when burned. The smoke fills a 10-foot cube (treat the effect as a fog cloud spell, except that a moderate or stronger wind dissipates the smoke in 1 round). The stick is consumed after 1 round, and the smoke dissipates naturally after 1 minute. Fog Cloud:
Fog Cloud
School conjuration (creation); Level druid 2, sorcerer/wizard 2 Casting Time 1 standard action Components V, S Range medium (100 ft. + 10 ft. level) Effect fog spreads in 20-ft. radius, 20 ft. high Duration 10 min./level Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no A bank of fog billows out from the point you designate. The fog obscures all sight, including darkvision, beyond 5 feet. A creature within 5 feet has concealment (attacks have a 20% miss chance). Creatures farther away have total concealment (50% miss chance, and the attacker can't use sight to locate the target). A moderate wind (11+ mph) disperses the fog in 4 rounds; a strong wind (21+ mph) disperses the fog in 1 round. The spell does not function underwater. This is a bit like Alice going down the rabbit hole. It could be ruled as acting like a Fog Cloud spell, that is having a fixed 20' height and being a 15' spread. It could be ruled strictly from a Smokestick perspective of being a 30'x30'x15' semi-cube because smoke stick is a cube. It could also be implied by the 15' radius to be a sphere, but cloud spreads use this terminology as well. The wording is definitely not very clear. Edit: personally I would use a mix of the above, meaning treat it as a cloud-like spell but substitute 15' for the relevant dimensions, so 15' radius spread with a fixed 15' height. But how it functions is for Wraithstrike to determine. ![]()
![]() NPC d'Eben wrote:
Drunken Brute: Raging Drunk, got it... six buffs in three rounds is awesome. Sorry, it just triggered my BS flag. It was a false alarm this time :). I recommend hand-waiving rounds one and two, but I would like to see things fixed out for round 3(i.e. no Haste or Blessing of Fervor). Keep the fun coming, but let's keep it honest fun :) ![]()
![]() wraithstrike wrote:
Sorry after a 30 attack doesn’t come within five of hitting someone, I get very curious... so here are my concerns: #1: I noticed that the opposite team was allowed to pre-buff Haste and Blessing of Fervor, which contradict the 1/min per level rule.#2: Hyundai has 9 buffs(I have no idea how this is even possible) What am I not seeing? ![]()
![]() Salve of Slipperiness: Aura moderate conjuration; CL 6th Slot —; Price 1,000 gp; Weight — Description This substance provides a +20 competence bonus on all Escape Artist checks and combat maneuver checks made to escape from a grapple. The salve also grants a +10 competence bonus to the wearer's Combat Maneuver Defense for the purpose of avoiding grapple attempts. In addition, such obstructions as webs (magical or otherwise) do not affect an anointed individual. Magic ropes and the like do not avail against this salve. If it is smeared on a floor or on steps, the area should be treated as a long-lasting grease spell. The salve requires 8 hours to wear off normally, or it can be wiped off with an alcohol solution (even wine). Salve of slipperiness is needed to coat the inside of a container meant to hold sovereign glue. Construction Requirements Craft Wondrous Item, grease; Cost 500 gp ![]()
![]() NPC d'Eben wrote:
#1: Deverau still has concealment from Kaze, not but much but legally he does. PRD:
Concealment
To determine whether your target has concealment from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that provides concealment, the target has concealment. When making a melee attack against an adjacent target, your target has concealment if his space is entirely within an effect that grants concealment. When making a melee attack against a target that isn't adjacent to you, use the rules for determining concealment from ranged attacks. In addition, some magical effects provide concealment against all attacks, regardless of whether any intervening concealment exists. #2: I am not sure a 10' spread is going to hit someone 15' away and 20' in the air from someone on the ground at the same time. Not to mention the 10' wall... #3: Mofiddy, no one needs to make a save, Dispelling is a standard action, meaning you cannot cast another spell. ![]()
![]() Mofiddy, dismissing a spell is a standard action
from the PRD: (D) Dismissible: If the duration line ends with “(D),” you can dismiss the spell at will. You must be within range of the spell's effect and must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spell's verbal component. If the spell has no verbal component, you can dismiss the effect with a gesture. Dismissing a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
A spell that depends on concentration is dismissible by its very nature, and dismissing it does not take an action, since all you have to do to end the spell is to stop concentrating on your turn. ![]()
![]() Ray "Demon Caller" Remiar wrote:
Don't forget about the Stinking Cloud Ray, regardless we can move onto round 2 :) ![]()
![]() Let's keep the chat in the arena to a bare minimum. I get excited because I see posts on my Paizo list... only find out it is chatter :( All rolls that are proactive please put in your post. Any spell effects that are contingent on a failed save, ask the person rolling the save to roll it in their post. For simplicity do not roll percentages for mirror image. If the person has four images, like Hyundai, Just roll a 1d5, if the roll is a 1 you hit the original, and no images are lost.
It's not that hard :) ![]()
![]() Bobson wrote:
This sounds like a better idea. Having the Caster Level bonus scale with the level of the spell. CLW = 1d8+CL CMW = 2d8+2xCL, CSW = 3d8+3xCL... I've played in a game that substituted 1d8 for 1d4+4, but it seemed to increase the complexity more than anything. ![]()
![]() MoFiddy's Gladiator wrote:
Basically it boils down to, if it targets based on sight then each image =a single target(This is where the value of Mirror Image comes from, the fact that enemies can choose the wrong target) However, this spell hits every target within range simultaneously... if the purpose of mirror image is to function as a valid target in the context of someone shooting at it then it makes perfect sense that this spell would target the original and all the images simultaneously. Saying it attacks based on sight but only chooses one of the six creatures(1 guy +5 images, all are valid targets), contradicts the spell and defies logic.EDIT: Just to clarify. Black Tentacles does not choose targets, it targets everything. So if Images = valid targets, they all get grappled along with the original. If images != valid targets, the original gets targeted and the images survive... I am trying to give you guys the best option I can rationally endorse :). ![]()
![]() NPC d'Eben wrote:
True he could always delay, but he still hasn't made his Fort save. Or said if he is grappled or not. Helping someone get out of grapple:
Multiple Creatures: Multiple creatures can attempt to grapple one target. The creature that first initiates the grapple is the only one that makes a check, with a +2 bonus for each creature that assists in the grapple (using the Aid Another action). Multiple creatures can also assist another creature in breaking free from a grapple, with each creature that assists (using the Aid Another action) granting a +2 bonus on the grappled creature's combat maneuver check. Although the question of whether or not you can change the initiator of the grapple to reverse a grapple, is interesting... If say a weakling is grappled by an ogre and his fighter buddy delays until the weaklings turn... could the fighter buddy act as the initiator of the reversal for that round and the weakling just assist him? Once the grapple is reversed releasing is a free action.
|