Tobimarsh's page

10 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


How does Holy Water interact with incorporeal creatures damage wise, under holy water it doesn't say it deals half damage or full damage nor does it answer this under the incorporeal type outside of saying "Although it is not a magical attack, holy water can affect incorporeal undead."


Ryze Kuja wrote:
Okay, maybe I'm unclear as to what you're attempting to do; let's nail down what exactly you're trying to say Jabbing Style does. Are you trying to say that you can use Jabbing Style to get extra damage even when you're not in the stance? Or are you trying to say that you can use Jabbing Style while in a different stance? Or both? Or have I missed your thesis entirely and you're saying something else?

Correct. Jabbing style reads "When you hit a target with an unarmed strike and you have hit that target with an unarmed strike previously that round, you deal an extra 1d6 points of damage to that target." nothing states you must be in the style to use it, and the general style feat rules as you linked only apply to feats with a style as it's prerequisite not the base style feats themselves. Quite a few styles (Boar, Crane, all the genie's, Monkey to just list ones from UC) give you a benefit and then state "while using this style" and an additional benefit even.


Ryze Kuja wrote:

Style Feats <--- 2nd paragraph down.

Style Feats wrote:
"As a swift action, you can enter the stance employed by the fighting style a style feat embodies. Although you cannot use a style feat before combat begins, the style you are in persists until you spend a swift action to switch to a different combat style. You can use a feat that has a style feat as a prerequisite only while in the stance of the associated style. For example, if you have feats associated with Mantis Style and Tiger Style, you can use a swift action to adopt Tiger Style at the start of one turn, and then can use other feats that have Tiger Style as a prerequisite. By using another swift action at the start of your next turn, you could adopt Mantis Style and use other feats that have Mantis Style as a prerequisite."

As previously stated that does not apply to the first style feat in each line as none of them have themselves as prerequisites.


Ryze Kuja wrote:
Java Man is correct, one style at a time. Consider the purpose of Master of Many Styles.

Can you provide me with the exact text saying that?


Java Man wrote:
You can split hairs here, but it seems to me the intention is that only one style is used at a time, barring an ability to do othwrwise. But I'm not the GM at your table, so what does my opinion matter?

I personally agree with the intent but there are a significant amount of style feats that don't use the terminology "while using this feat" and quite a few even give you an ability and then say "while using this feat" and give another ability. Boar, Crane, the genin style's, Monkey, for examples. That's fine I'm not really looking for opinion's but if there is anything that I'm missing.

PossibleCabbage wrote:
A related question, however, does the "only take a -2 penalty when fighting defensively" clause require you to enter crane style? Crane Style's subsequent clause obviously requires being in the style. I figure this is the question most parallel to the OP's.

The way it's worded unless there was an errata I don't see why it wouldn't.


Java Man wrote:
General rules for style feats require you to be in the stance.

Can you give me the exact text saying that? All I can find is "As a swift action, you can enter the stance employed by the fighting style a style feat embodies. Although you cannot use a style feat before combat begins, the style you are in persists until you spend a swift action to switch to a different combat style. You can use a feat that has a style feat as a prerequisite only while in the stance of the associated style." which does not apply since Jabbing style doesn't have itself as a prerequisite.


Try looking around and couldn't find anyone even asking about it. Jabbing style unlike most other Styles never says you need to be in the style to use it and the style feat page also only specifies you need to be in the style for feats that have a style as a prerequisite. Were there ever any errata's or clarification brought to this?


If I have a character with the Vestigial Arm discovery and Rapid Reload would he be able to fire and rapid reload both crossbows with just one extra hand?


Can you have both an Amulet of Mighty Fists giving you Melee Special Abilities and Body Wrap of Mighty Strikes giving 1-4 of your attacks an enhancement bonus each round?


Not really finding much on this subject and DM is also not too sure. Can you hold two items in one hand if it makes sense being able to hold them both. I'm wanting to be able to hold a net (can't use it without dropping both hands items clearly) and then be gripping a wand as well (also persumably can't use unless shifted to main hand) while wielding something in your main hand?