Ochymua

Thorgron's page

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber. Organized Play Member. 8 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 8 Organized Play characters.



4 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I don't think the resistance and immunity work the same way.

"While you have an element
gathered, you gain resistance equal to your level to damage
from a source that has that trait."

Above is the wording on the resistance, giving you resistance to all damage from a source with your elemental trait.

"While you
have an element gathered, you’re immune to effects with
that trait"

And here is the wording on the immunity.

A claw attack from a red dragon doesn't have the fire trait, but its breath weapon does. So you get resistance against everything the red dragon does equal to your level (the source of the damage has the fire trait) and are immune to it's breath weapon (an effect with the fire trait). To me that seems to be working as intended.

EDIT: What I think is happening here is flavor text interfering with rules text. Elemental Resistance and Elemental Immunity are two seperate class features. That bit of flavor at the begining of Elemental Immunity is just that, flavor. It's not removing or modifying Elemental Resistance in any way. There are class features that overwrite or modify earlier class features in that way in PF2 (look at Master Overdrive on the Inventor) but those specifically call out the ability that they are modifying and how.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I think its worthwhile to test in an all kineticist group to find their pain points and where they excel. Those things should be exaggerated if you only have the tools available to the kineticist in the party.

It also means you get to see more of the options available to the class with a single session instead of only seeing what a dedicated fire kineticist can do, for example.

No, you're not seeing how they fit in a normal party, but there's still something to learn from it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Cordell Kintner wrote:

The two hand trait doesn't mean "I can use this in two hands!" it means if you use it in two hands the die size changes. You can hold any weapon in two hands, even a dagger, but that does nothing for the damage unless it has that trait.

In the case of Elemental Weapon, it can't be a two handed weapon, meaning you can never use it in two hands.

I could absolutely be wrong but I don’t think that’s true. If it was, the mauler archetype wouldn’t need to specifically call out that it gives proficiency in two handed weapons and weapons with the two-hand trait.

As I read it, the bastard sword meets the requirements for Elemental Weapon. It’s a one handed, common, martial weapon. The feat doesn’t say anything about how many hands the weapon must be wielded in or exclude you from using any of the traits on the weapon.