TerminalVector's page

2 posts. Alias of Henry Dotson.


RSS


blahpers wrote:
Plenty of abilities say to "roll d20 and add so-and-so to the result". None of them alter the actual die roll. Mythic surge adds a bonus, nothing more.

I had this come up in session last night. The party bard rolled a nat 1 on a reflex save, but his result was high enough to make the save due to bonuses. The resulting damage was going to kill him outright. I ruled that because it says "increase the ROLL by d6" not "add a mythic bonus of d6" mythic surge allowed him to alter the outcome, make his save and end up unconscious instead of dead.

Plenty of abilities say "add a X type bonus to your d20 roll", and the devs decided to word it differently, so I decided that was enough. I will likely rule that to avoid abuse I will rule that this only matters on a roll of nat 1, and cannot be used to cause crits. I know its not consistent, but I don't really mind that.


As a house rule would it make sense to limit the "Increase the DC by 5 for each requirement you lack" rule so that you can only do so if you are capable of casting spells of the appropriate level? IE. to create a Luck Blade you must be able to cast 9th level spells or be of sufficient character level so that you would be able to do so if you're using the master craftsman feat. I can't think of any problems with that. You should be able to create items with an ICL higher than your own, that's why there's a skill check, but this would prevent early access to spells way above your level.