Suikoden's page

1 post. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


The Share Spell special ability of Familiars (Fs), Animal Companions (ACs), Eidolons (Es), and Phantoms (Ps) works the same for all (all = FACEP):

Quote:

Share Spells (Ex):

STATEMENT 1: The [class] may cast a spell with a target of “you” on his [FACEP] (as a spell with a range of touch) instead of on himself.

STATEMENT 2: A [class] may cast spells on his [FACEP] even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the [FACEP]'s type ([Magical Beast/Animal/Outsider]).

STATEMENT 3: Spells cast in this way must come from the [class] spell list.

STATEMENT 4: This ability does not allow the [FACEP] to share abilities that are not spells, even if they function like spells.

Now, here are my questions (S1 = statement 1, etc.):

1. The Familiar's Share Spells description lacks S3 and S4. Does that mean that it *actually and purposefully* doesn't have those rules applied to it, or was it an error of omission?
ACs, Es, and Ps all have those statements.
ACs are in the Core Rulebook just like Fs, and I see no particular reason for Fs to function differently on this aspect, so not sure which case is true.

2. The most important issue: S2 is separate from S1, and worded slightly differently.
S1 says that "[class] may cast a spell" (singular), while S2 says that "[class] may cast spells" (plural), which seems more generic and potentially referring to "all spells", because it doesn't directly refer to S1 by saying something like "can cast such spells".
So, are they to be taken separately, or do you think it is implicitly intended that S2 is subordinated to S1 and refers only to the spells with a target of "you"?
Thematically, it makes sense that S2 is subordinate to 1, just specifying a sub-rule of the first rule, because sharing spells with a target of "you" is proper "sharing", while just casting any spell on another creature as normal (except the creature-type bypass) is just using the spell as intended, not this peculiar form of "sharing".

As a practical example, take Enlarge Person:
"Target: one humanoid creature".
The creature type isn't an issue, because it would be bypassed.
But the target is not "you", so, if S2 is subordinated to S1, Enlarge Person couldn't be cast on a FACEP; yet, if S2 has to be considered on its own, it could be cast.

I can also imagine some issues with certain spells, if S2 is on its own, although at present I don't have practical examples for that in mind.

But anyway, which is it? Is S2 subordinated to S1 or just on its own?