Strix

Subparhiggins's page

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber. Organized Play Member. 249 posts (267 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 3 aliases.




Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

My GM for my Starfinder game has a rules question that they can't find the answer to regarding Starship combat. We're doing our first space combat today, and I wanted to see if anyone can help us get this cleared up before we begin later this evening.

Under the damage heading for Ship Combat it says that when a hit is confirmed against a hostile ship, the gunner then gets to determine/choose what quadrant of the ship was hit and takes damage. Our question is, how do you choose which quadrant of the ship was hit? Do you only pick out of a few quadrants relative to the facing of your firing arc, or can you pick any part of the ship at all? If you can pick any part of the ship, then you could always shoot where there are no shields. What would be the point of shields then?

Thank you for any help you can provide.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I DM a game for a couple of friends, and one of them recently made a gnome Cavalier with the Gendarme archetype, who focuses on charging. The player wants to find a way to charge nearly every single turn, and during tonight's session came up with a challenge to the rules I didn't know how to answer. The PC was standing right next to a medium size creature on one of its diagonal threatened squares. When she asked if she could charge from there, I said no and that you needed to move at least 10 ft to make a charge action valid. She responded by moving 10 feet along the medium size creatures side, using the Ride-by-Attack feat to avoid Attacks of Opportunities mind, to reach the opposite diagonal square along the medium creatures side. Is this legal? It seems like that would make a charge option possible every round, but make the 10 feet requirement to move a useless restriction.

Heres a little diagram to illustrate the charge issue.

X = The Medium sized creature
O = The Cavalier PC
- = Surrounding empty squares

O - -
- X -
- - -

- - O
- X -
- - -


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Wild-shape is listed as a Supernatural Ability, but it also states that it functions like the various Beast Shape spells, which have components. I've seen conflicting opinions on this forum as whether or not Supernatural Abilities require fulfilling the components to cast, so I though I'd ask:

Does Wild-shape require the druid to have all necessary components on them to activate? Would a totally unequipped druid would be unable to transform? Would they be unable to transform when grappled in their normal form?