| Sterlingclaw |
Hello everyone!
So there has been some debate in my non-PFS group about what happens when you attach a bayonet to a weapon.
For true combination weapons, the rules state that to go from melee>ranged you can just attack, then your weapon is in ranged mode, and it takes an action to reconfigure it before you can make a melee strike.
Is that what happens if you affix an bayonet to an existing weapon?
The alternative argument was made that putting a bayonet onto a ranged weapon did not make it a combination weapon, so you could shoot then make a strike with the bayonet without having to take an action to switch.
What say you, rules lawyers? Does affixing a bayonet make it a combination weapon, subject to the combination rules, or does it just let you have two weapons in one and can use either method to attack (more like a thrown weapon, I guess)