Count Haserton Lowis IV

Stellari's page

Organized Play Member. 11 posts. No reviews. 1 list. No wishlists. 19 Organized Play characters. 1 alias.


RSS


A little awkward, but I was going to download #81 (Shifting Sands, Mummy's Mask) from my downloads page, but it's not listed. I have the subscription and the rest are there. I even have the book at home, delivered from Paizo.


Or, hell, passing through any of the spaces that are threatened should provoke.


So a something with reach could technically take an AoO against said barbarian using "no escape" to follow them through a withdraw action, since they technically pass through a threatened space of that something. That's how I see it at least.


I suppose it could also be said that the barbarian would only enter the space after the movement is done... shrug, I was just thinking of doing a "no escape" barb/fighter build. all the step-up feats as well as the barb rage power, could prove to be a powerful (or fool-hardy) in-your-face anti-caster setup.


I know you can provoke an AoO if you withdraw through a second threatened square, just curious if you can take AoO's if somehow someone provokes from you WHILE you are withdrawing. What brought this up is the barbarian rage ability "No Escape" (I think that's the name) says you can follow a withdrawing person, but would the barbarian provoke from the withdrawer because he follows through? He technically passes through several of the threatened squares from the withdrawer. (I suppose same would go with the follow-up step feat)

3/5

bump

3/5

Dang, that statement had me all hoping, I guess I'll leave this thread open for now

3/5

So, original question, can I get it at lvl 5 via the statement in the beastiary 2 brownie block, or would I have to wait until level 7 via the description of the Improved Familiar feat?

3/5

"Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Bestiary 2
Animal Companions: allosaurus, arsinoitherium, baboon, compsognathus, gar, glyptodon, hippopotamus, manta ray, megaloceros, megatherium, parasaurolophus, ram, giant snapping turtle, stingray, tylosaurus; Familiars: brownie, compsognathus, lyraken azata, snapping turtle, voidworm protean; Feats: none of the feats are legal for play for PCs, animal companions, or familiars unless specifically granted by another legal source; Other: all creatures in this book are legal for polymorph effects (including a druid's wild shape ability) within the boundaries of each spell or ability's parameters."

From the additional resources page, if I read that correctly, it brings up my original question.

3/5

So the familiars listed on the beastiary 2 section of additional resources are "not legal"? I ask because it doesn't specify either.

3/5

4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Okay, I'm seeing different rules for this, at least in book entries...
The improved familiar feat states: "Brownie Neutral 7th" from Ultimate Magic
The beastiary 2 states: "A 5th-level neutral spellcaster with the Improved Familiar feat can gain a brownie as a familiar."
Which should I take as true?