GreenShaDow wrote:Rysky wrote:I came across this issue as well, and took a bit of exploring to figure it out. There is an obvious issue that needs to be fixed, and will be. When I originally read this, I thought it was a copy/paste of the monk example from the playtest, since Wis originally gave you spell points. Should we read the examples and sidebars? Yes. Is anyone disagreeing with that? No. What should we do when the sidebar example says one thing and the written rules say another? I believe the point that is being made is, this is a mistake and it can be easily confusing for a new player to figure out.
To phrase it another way, why would they make an example in the Core Rulebook that didn’t follow the rules?
That's the thing, the written rules don't say another. It wasn't an error by listing the wrong thing, it was an error by omission.
This is actually a very good point. It's not that it specifically stated another stat....but because of the omission of Wisdom for spell DC, there are multiple statements of "Your casting ability DC" or something like that...and the only DC ever mentioned in the class rules is your Monk DC based on your primary stat at that point. So with omission, it can actually be implied your primary monk stat DC is used. This better explains the point of my original post i think :)