Sortis22's page

Organized Play Member. 7 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Additional options include Tea of Transference if you can get a ki pool and the recall use of Hero Points if they are available to you.


"A greater transformative weapon becomes any other weapon the wielder desires when a command word is spoken."
OR
"A shadowcraft weapon can assume the form of any masterwork weapon that shares its type and handedness."

"Any" doesn't sound very limiting. What written is preventing you from having it assume the form of a modern firearm like the Madsen light machine gun or technological heavy weaponry like the plasmathrower or atom gun?

You may encounter problems with charging technological weapons since shadowcraft only produces its own ammunition, but an atom gun has its own reactor.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Dubious

Rods wrote:
Rods are scepter-like devices that have unique magical powers and do not usually have charges. Anyone can use a rod.
Rod of Wonder wrote:

Activating the rod is a standard action...

88–90 10–40 gems, value 1 gp each, shoot forth in a 30-foot-long stream. Each gem deals 1 point of damage to any creature in its path: roll 5d4 for the number of hits and divide them among the available targets.

So it takes 6 seconds to have a 3% chance of getting 10 to 40 gp of gems. That means if you somehow activate the rod every round for 100 rounds, you on average should have 3 results giving you on average 25 gp of gems each. 100 rounds=600 seconds=10 minutes. So 10 minutes averages 75 gp. A day is 1,440 minutes long. Nonstop use over the course of a day yields average 10,800 gp in gems.

The Rod of Wonder costs 12,000 gp. Permanency on an animated object costs 15,000 gp.

If you buy a rod of wonder and just have an animated object activate it continuously in a safe area, you should be able to collect back your investment in just a few days.

This assumes you aren't presented with target issues, and the GM sticks with the "typical powers" of the rod.


Sorry for the necro, but thought it might be helpful:

I stumbled across a reference to this fellow today elsewhere in the forums that contradicts my opinion on the need for class levels.

Yrure'tugala, Awakened Dire Ape Antipaladin 5
Brandon Hodge, Colin McComb, Jason Nelson. (2011). Rival Guide, p. 27. Paizo Publishing, LLC. ISBN 978-1-60125-302-6

He only has 5 levels, yet the writers gave him Leadership despite not meeting its character level 7th prerequisite.

Although I don't agree with it, it's an added consideration for those still playing 1st Edition that might have this question.


Azothath wrote:
Xerxes22 It might be a good idea to review formal logic. That way you can improve your critical thinking skills. It will help you to avoid and detect classic flaws in logical arguments and avoid making errors in logic. While few things are logical, it does help organize thoughts for common experience.

Yeah, I think it's called "affirming the consequent."

But I tend to be a know-it-all, and I figured maybe he had read a rule I hadn't.


Thank you folks for weighing in.

I think the logic I was presented with was something like:

Racial hit dice give you feats;
Levels give you feats;
Therefore Racial hit dice count as levels.

I thought it was pretty cut and dry that Character level=Class level, so when I was presented with that argument I had to take a step back and ask if I was viewing it wrong since sometimes terms get stated in different ways and their definitions are more nebulous than I originally thought.


Feats such as Eldritch Heritage and Leadership have a specific character level as a prerequisite.

Does a monster with only racial HD count as having the equivalent character level?

I know that Character Level equals the sum of a character's class levels which seems to preclude Racial HD, but someone is trying to persuade me otherwise for the purpose of feat prereqs.

So, without having any class levels, can something like an Adult Gold Dragon have Eldritch Heritage or an Awakened Flesh Golem take Leadership?