Sithobi1's page

Organized Play Member. 8 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 3 Organized Play characters.


RSS


elcoderdude wrote:

FYI because we've referred to this in this thread:

Mummy's Mask rulebook p.9 wrote:
Encountering A Card.... After you flip over the top card of the location deck, put it on top of the deck and read it.

Strange. I was looking at p.7, where it does not say to put it on top of the deck (since not all encounters are explorations). Does this mean that all encounters should be put on top of the deck before resolving the encounter, even summoned cards? Also, nothing ever tells you to flip the card back over. Should it? Also, when is a character token face-up?

My guess, though it's been proven wrong already, is that encounters do end up as the top card, albeit temporarily, you should flip cards back over, and tokens are never face up.


Examining says to pick up a card, look at it, and put it back when you're done, which means that the card isn't actually part of the deck at that point, right?
I guess it wasn't clear to me that "flip over the top card" meant that it was then a "faceup card on top of the deck", as opposed to certain barriers that explicitly remain face up on top of the deck.


Looking at this mostly because of Zibini's ability to look at the top card of a location deck when damage is taken. Examined cards are explicitly not part of their decks, but the same does not appear to be true of explored cards, which seem to remain on top of their decks. Unfortunately, this means that Zibini's ability is often pointless, and leads to some other weirdness like shrieking plant triggering itself. Can someone point me to a rules citation regarding this?


For the question about impact:
There are some things, like the Deliquescent Gloves or Blessing of Wadjet, which have both a reveal ability and a recharge/discard ability.

And yes, when we did WotR, we ran across the Swallowtail Bracers question, but I don't think it was clear whether we were able to find the "when" powers override check limitations (or whether it existed at the time).


Okay, my problem is that I misread this:

Skizzerz wrote:

#2 is correct, however each paragraph on a card is its own power*. You are allowed to play the same card multiple times for different powers, as long as you do not use any individual power more than once.

(* Some cards have paragraphs containing instructions, for example the paragraph concerning recharge checks for spells. These paragraphs are not powers.)

as being generally permissive instead of for the particular purpose of cards saying, "You may play another <card> on this check."

...but when looking further into the rulebook as Skizzerz said I should do, came across the same "gap" in the rules that Hawkmoon pointed out.


Longshot11 wrote:
However, since each of those powers would count as a separate instance of "playing an X-type card" - this would violate the "1 card per type per check" rule.

Why? It's still one card.


skizzerz wrote:

#2 is correct, however each paragraph on a card is its own power*. You are allowed to play the same card multiple times for different powers, as long as you do not use any individual power more than once.

(* Some cards have paragraphs containing instructions, for example the paragraph concerning recharge checks for spells. These paragraphs are not powers.)

Can you point to anywhere where it's actually stated you can use multiple powers on a single card on the same check? It's stated that you can use only one card of a given type on a given check, and that when you play a card you must choose a single power. Is this just a case of reading the rules finely? (because my group has definitely misunderstood this rule, if so)


If a player examines a card in a player deck that says to, for example, attempt to acquire a card, is this identical to encountering the card in a location deck? i.e. could you potentially banish a card from a player deck by examining their deck?

The only thing I could find on this was:
Check to Acquire: When you encounter a boon, you may attempt a
check to acquire it. If you succeed at the check, put the card in your
hand; if you fail or choose to not attempt the check, banish the card

If the latter doesn't apply because the boon wasn't encountered...then similarly, the acquire check wouldn't necessarily put the card in your hand.