| Shadowmann2330 |
@james jacobs.
Hello sir, i write to you today to ask a question involving whips, attacks of opportunity, the ruling under the equipment section regarding reach weapons, and the feat "improved whip mastery".
I am new to these forums i know not how to link such things, I am at work and i will read the forum rules once i get home.
Yes, the need to know the answer to my burning question is the top priority. Reason: Boredom.
So to begin, the whip gives a 15-foot melee reach to its wielder, though the ability to use AOO's doesn't come until improved whip mastery.
Problem is the feat states something along the lines of you now threaten an area of your natural reach plus 5 feet.
My question: does the above feat intend to say " within your natural reach plus 5" or "within the natural reach of your whip plus 5-feet?"
The reason i thought this to be true was simple: if the weapon had a way to magically extend the reach of the weapon via the enchantment "distance" the second interpretation of the feat would negate the extra reach provided by the magic.
I was assuming the whip would grant its wielder full AOO range plus five feet after a minimum of 5 fighter levels, and 6 feats of investment. I sincerely hope this is the case.