Sathar's page
43 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.
|


Healing pg.9 wrote: When a power heals you, shuffle the specified number [...] from your discards into your deck. If you're discarding a card to heal yourself, exclude that card [...]. So, I'm a little unclear what we're supposed to be doing when a heal is triggered by an action other than discarding.
Pre-core, some "healing" caused your deck to shuffle, others would just recharge the "healed" cards. Core standardizes this so that all "Healing" effects trigger a deck shuffle.
Pre-core, if a power instructed you "Recharge this card to recharge a card from your discards" it was pretty clear that first you recharged the healing card, then the healed card, and now these two cards would be on the bottom of your deck.
Post-core, doing the same thing would result in first recharging the "Healing" card, then shuffling the healed card in, resulting in the Healing card being effectively shuffled and not recharged. This may be the intended result, but it seems to be at odds with the way the discarded card in the rule inset is specifically excluded from the heal.
There are a few powers that cause this to come up. The most obvious is Kyra's end of turn heal. We've been making her shuffle in her healed card and then recharge the card she used to heal, but that feels like it conflicts with RAW.
Ashbringer wrote: For your combat check, reveal [...] If any die rolled on this check shows 1, count it as a 3 or [...] 6, then discard the top card of your deck. I use Ashbringer and roll a fistful of dice. I get x 1's (let's assume x > 1), do I:
a) Count a single 1 as a 3/6 and discard the top card of my deck (apply the power once)
b) Count "x" 1's as "x" 3/6's and discard the top card of my deck (apply the change to all applicable dice and pay the "price" once)
c) Count "x" 1's as "x" 3/6's and discard the top "x" cards of my deck (apply the power in full once per occurrence of "1")
I've been reading this as c), but it could definitely be dangerous as this appears to be a mandatory effect, and could easily be fatal especially if you're rolling a lot of dice.
|
1 person marked this as a favorite.
|
Apologies if this was answered already, I thought it came up but couldn't find it and the Locked Door thread doesn't quite answer it.
If you suffer a scourge that you already have marked you do not add a marker and there is no additional effect, but does it still count as suffering a/the Scourge?
Specifically, Dazed says that if you did not suffer this Scourge this turn you may remove it at the end of your turn. If a character already has a marker on Dazed and suffers a new Dazed on their turn, can they still remove it at the end of turn or is the Dazed in effect extended an additional turn?

We're nearing the end of our second WotR playthrough, but last night I had the sinking realization that be may have been playing the Gift wrong this whole time:
When we first met Arueshalae and learned of the Gift, I suspect that we conflated the Power on the cohort card and her Power that activates it. As a result, we routinely wait until we're deep in a check assembling dice, before weighing in on whether or not she needs to play the Gift for that little extra kick on a tough check, or to have a chance when we get caught flat footed by a surprise check on a weak skill.
It finally dawned on me, though, that it really is two separate powers:
On AG: "Display this card next to another character's deck and put a marker on 1 of the traits below. [...]"
On Arueshalae: "When the cohort Arueshalae's Gift is displayed [...] add 1d4 to his checks [...]"
While the second Power can unquestionably be played during a check in progress which it can affect (that's its whole point), the first Power (displaying the Cohort) technically does not affect a check in progress unless Arueshalae subsequently uses her Power. This appears to violate the rule that you cannot play Powers that require somebody to "Do something else" in order to affect the check.
Does that mean that Arueshalae's Gift needs to be played in advance before an Encounter, or is this an "exception" like when Balazar discards a spell during a fight to pull and play a monster (which feels like it breaks the same rule, but has explicitly been stated to be a valid play)?

We just finished Wrath Adventure 1 and I could use a little free advice for Alain.
Party is Alain, Balazar, Imjirka, Harsk. Balazar is going Mythic Marshal. It's our second time through Wrath so we've been around the block, but I'm not used to playing a pure combat "one-trick pony" like Alain -- we just finished MM where Mavaro was the ultimate jack-of-all-trades.
I'm torn between going Marshal or Guardian with Alain.
I was leaning towards Guardian to give some party diversity (we already have a Marshal), and figuring that Alain already has a decent, though not Mythic, Charisma/Diplomacy on his own. Meanwhile, being able to boost/pump his fair Con gets him past some checks, including Armor acquires, that he would otherwise struggle with (granted he has Harsk and a soon-to-be Eidolomancer to retrieve his armors for him).
A review of the Messageboards seems to strongly favor Marshal, however. Aside from the obvious synergy with Alain's base skills, it also opens up the Mythic Marshal Two-step for us (which still feels a little cheaty, but clearly has its fans).
Thoughts?
BTW, I'm planning on going Lancer, but not committed.
Several Allies have a Check to Acquire of Combat. Can Mavaro Display one of these to gain the (otherwise nonexistent) "Combat" skill? Can the Combat skill then be used to make a check of the type "Combat"?
Do Triggers fire when examining cards in your character deck? I can't find anything to say they don't, but it does feel... odd.
Last session, my Mavaro used his Helpful Haversack (an eternal source of my endless Googling) and Examined his Whatchmacallit of Ra. Its Trigger was irrelevant as I had no Ra blessings in my hand, but if I did would I have been able to add it to my hand for free? The card says to "acquire this card" but one of my colleagues claimed that I cannot "acquire" a card which I already "own".
I just picked up a Skeletal Hyena as well (Trigger: "reveal an animal to acquire"), which will generate more or less the same question.
Assuming the Triggers work normally, is there any consensus whether having and examining Triggers in your deck is generally (un)desirable? I saw one suggestion in another thread implying no, but there wasn't any discussion.
Hello, World. Long time reader, first time poster -- this board (and the community at BGG as well) has been an immeasurable boon as we worked through ROTR, S&S and most recently WOTR.
So, here's an "easy" first question:
WOTR Adventure 6, despite looking, feeling and tasting like a Book the Cohort Lexicon of Paradox is a Support card, not a Boon. This means that it cannot be used to trigger any of Enora's powers that require a "boon that has the Book trait," correct?
By Scenario 6, Adowyn was getting increasingly annoyed with me for making her lug the book around, since "My Terraform makes it a bit redundant for me." Side note, GeekDad on his blog appears to have played this wrong.
|