![]() ![]()
If a Bloodrager/Sorceror took a level of Dragon Disciple, would Dragon Disciple advance both the Bloodrager and the Sorceror Bloodline Powers?
The FAQ answered the question definitively that Dragon Disciple advances the Bloodrager Draconic bloodline here: Advanced Class Guide FAQ However the ruling did not explicitly state that both non-prestige class bloodlines are advanced. Here is the relevant text from Dragon Disciple:
![]()
if you want to use your powers on yourself, Touch of Good is a spell like ability and can be quickened with the quicken spell-like abilty feat 3/day. it is treated as a first level spell since cleric gets the domain power at level 1. other domains (especially luck) benefit more from this feat if that is the direction you decide to go. ![]()
A jingasa of the fortunate soldier may be in order since your con is lower. luck bonus to AC isn't easy to find elsewhere either. if you are playing up much of the time, i would suggest that you buy con instead. you don't die when you run out of AC. ![]()
thanks for taking the time to respond to this longtime forum lurker everyone. I am considering playing an arcane duelist(bard)7/barbarianX character with the aforementioned feats/items and wanted to float the idea here to make sure I have not misunderstood how these items interact. I still have some questions about how items that increase a bonus stack (not with themselves according to the majority here) and if they themselves provide the bonus or modify it as written. Some of these questions fall outside the scope of this courageous weapon thread though and should be posted elsewhere I suppose. Aelryinth said wrote: As for feat/effect multipliers, you generally combine them in the manner which would be most advantageous for the caster of the effect. But, remember Courageous only affects the sword bearer, NOT the flagbearer. I agree, unless the "sword bearer" is the courageous longspear wielding flag bearer with banner. by this logic, could we expect: (1Flagbearer +3 from +4 furious/courageous longspear while raging)X2 Banner of the Ancient Kings = +8 morale bonus to hit/dam for himself in this case?(1+3)2 =8 ? as the courageous weapon increase the flagbearer bonus to +4, then the banner doubles the flagbearer bonus? or perhaps you get the courageous weapon + to the doubling effect of the banner as well as it is effectively granting a morale bonus by its function (1+3)(2+3)= +20 morale bonus. sorry truestrike, you are not needed here... LOL ![]()
is this what you were referring to Aelryinth? defending weapon property wrote: A defending weapon allows the wielder to transfer some or all of the weapon's enhancement bonus to his AC as a bonus that stacks with all others. As a free action, the wielder chooses how to allocate the weapon's enhancement bonus at the start of his turn before using the weapon, and the bonus to AC lasts until his next turn. This ability can only be placed on melee weapons. If so, Should the same logic be applied here since it grants a bonus instead of increasing another bonus? I don't think it should, but perhaps i am missing something. anyone want to take a crack at how a courageous weapon interact with other items that increase a morale bonus? flagbearer feat with Banner of the Ancient Kings (order of operation? stacking?) by one reading of this i could see gaining 8 morale to hit/damage from a +4 courageous/furious longspear while raging. or how about the same +4 courageous/furious raging with
![]()
Thanks for the responses everyone. I suspect Aelryinth's example might be the ruling I have been looking for. I will have to look into the specific wording later tonight when I have more time. The argument can be made that courageous isn't granting a bonus, but increasing one. Perhaps this interpretation is trying to slice it too fine. It boils down to this: Is an increase to a named bonus a bonus itself, even though it isn't called one? how does this interact with other items(non courageous weapons) and abilities that increase a morale bonus? A few examples include courageous weapon and:
![]()
It definitely increases morale bonuses to STR/CON from rage. I have a few questions about how it interacts with other items or abilities that increase a morale bonus. does the"any morale bonus the wielder gains from any other source is increased by half the weapon's enhancement bonus (minimum 1)." stack with itself? I have looked for some clarifications on how these "+x increase to bonus" items stack without much luck. The nature of these items is such that their sole function is to provide an increase to a bonus. I suspect most would agree that the increase to a bonus stacks with the bonus it modifies both by RAI and RAW. Is this increase itself a bonus? This clearly doesn't fall under the normal bonus stacking rules of only getting the highest bonus of a given type (outside of dodge, circumstance, etc.) 1. lets say a barbarian is dual wielding two +2 courageous weapons and rages. how much morale bonus to STR/CON should one expect from the weapon properties? a. 1 morale bonus because the increase to morale bonus from courageous weapon doesn't stack with itself. (please provide citation or ruling) b. 2 morale bonus: 1 from mainhand, 1 offhand c. 4 morale bonus: 1 from mainhand, 1 offhand, then one from each "trigger" of the weapon property as they provide an increase to morale bonus. |