Roka the Fox's page

No posts. Organized Play character for Peter Acs.




Hi all,

I have a character build that is aiming for Swashbuckler(Inspired Blade) 5/Monk (Karmic Monk) 2 and I'd like to know how the following abilities interact.

Opportune Parry and Riposte (Ex): At 1st level, when an opponent makes a melee attack against the swashbuckler, she can spend 1 panache point and expend a use of an attack of opportunity to attempt to parry that attack. The swashbuckler makes an attack roll as if she were making an attack of opportunity; for each size category the attacking creature is larger than the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler takes a –2 penalty on this roll. If her result is greater than the attacking creature’s result, the creature’s attack automatically misses. The swashbuckler must declare the use of this ability after the creature’s attack is announced, but before its attack roll is made. Upon performing a successful parry and if she has at least 1 panache point, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action make an attack against the creature whose attack she parried, provided that creature is within her reach. This deed’s cost cannot be reduced by any ability or effect that reduces the number of panache points a deed costs.

Karmic Strike (Su): At 1st level, a karmic monk gains bonuses against creatures that attack him first. If a creature the karmic monk has not attacked within the past 24 hours makes an attack roll against the karmic monk or casts an offensive spell that affects the karmic monk, the karmic monk receives a +2 bonus on attack rolls and damage rolls against that creature. If the karmic monk hits such a target, this bonus lasts until the end of the karmic monk’s turn (or until the beginning of the karmic monk’s next turn, if it isn’t his turn). Otherwise, the bonus against a particular creature lasts for 1 minute after the creature’s last attack against the karmic monk. This ability replaces stunning fist.

So the simple question is, if my character parries an initial attack from a creature which would trigger Karmic Strike, do I get the +2 hit/damage bonus on (A) the parry and (B) the riposte?


So things went a bit awry and the party piled into the fight with the two robotic apprentices without fully being prepared.

One-by-one they were knocked unconscious by the apprentices, although they managed to blow one apart using their EMP Pistol.

The remaining apprentice drags them down to the dungeon below and, after some appropriate gloating, throws them into the central 'Hive Mind Research' cell for safe-keeping. After stripping their equipment of course. Having confronted the party twice already and knowing they are powerful casters, Xoud surely wouldn't let them recover spells through peaceful rest overnight (and in fact will use its Spectral Miasma to heal up the damage it has taken from the helpless PCs). WIth the Arcanist the spellbook can simply be taken away, but can Xoud stop the Druid from regaining their allotment of spells?

How does the party of a Druid, Gunslinger, Arcanist and Barbarian escape this predicament?

I'm thinking that Nargin could be instrumental in their escape, but how so?


Hello all,

Just hoping for a quick clarification. Is it permitted for a character to make use of a Buckler, Swordmaster's Flair, Fencing Grace feat and the Stylish Riposte feat at the same time?

This seems like it would be intended, and thematic, but the wording isn't entirely consistent.

Fencing Grace:
Presumably this has the same errata as Slashing Grace, as it uses the same wording. In which case "[Fencing] Grace does not allow most shields, but bucklers work because they don’t occupy the hand.

Swordmaster's Flair:
This item has errata: Swordmaster’s flair should have a sentence added to it that says “Carrying a swordmaster’s flair counts as having that hand free for the purpose of abilities that require a free hand, though you still can’t hold another object in that hand.”

Stylish Riposte:
You can use these tricks only while wearing light or no armor, wielding a light or one-handed manufactured weapon in one hand, and holding nothing in your off hand.

So, is having a 'free hand' or an 'unoccupied hand' synonymous with 'holding nothing in your off hand'?


Hi all, I'm running Iron gods for the first time and need a bit of advice.

My players have agreed to let Meyanda go back to Scrapwall (along with her pistol and the disabled/disconnected power transmitter from the reactor). They held a court session with the Torch council in which they convinced them that letting her go was the best course of action.

This is despite the fact that she is completely unrepentant, refuses to engage with the human members of the party and has outright told them that she will go back to Hellion to continue the work of trying to usher in an age of machines. She has been unwaveringly blunt with them. She convinced the party cleric that letting her go would be a professional courtesy.

The only things she had going for her is that she is helping them get the reactor going long enough to re-power the decontamination chamber and heal Khonnir, and that she said that turning off the torch was nothing personal against the residents of the town and that she hadn't gone out of her way to hurt anybody. Which is technically true.

So now that she's safely going back to Scrapwall and Torch is on high alert against future such incursions, what would she do next?