![]() ![]()
![]() This case was more towards the second. Archetype in consideration is the Learned Duelist, which forces Light Weapon Group for Weapon Training. That's what I was leaning towards after reading the FAQ and what my friend initially understood. I've also pointed my GM towards this thread in case he wants to weigh in on the matter. So with the case of Forced Choice/Alternate Weapon Training (Dragoon or Learned Duelist) you count as having Weapon Training? ![]()
![]() http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fm#v5748eaic9qto As per this, things that replace Weapon Training with a specific choice of Weapon Training counts as Weapon Training for things that improve it. Would this mean I could take the Advanced Weapon Training Feat? I'd assume not as the wording of the question and FAQ generally sits around things that improve Weapon Training. But, the first line of the Answer says, "If the archetype ability says it works like the standard ability, it counts as that ability. If the archetype's ability requires you to make a specific choice for the standard ability, it counts as that ability." (Emphasis mine) However, that could be in direct reference to the question. But at the same time, would you consider Advanced Weapon Training to be something that improves Weapon Training as the effects improve your efficacy of the weapons of the group chosen? That's kind of a stretch, I'll admit, but still worth throwing out. So basically:
![]()
![]() I had seen your thread, but there are just two attempts at answers with conflicting thoughts. I personally lean more towards being able to take the same spirit more than once as nothing says you can't do that. And the untyped boni are coming from different sources (different implements) so it looks like they should stack as well. ![]()
![]() So I was looking over the Haunt Collector Archetype for Occultist and noticed some interesting things. First off, the fact that the change to Implements being a choice is pretty handy. And second, that there are quite a few Resonate Powers I wouldn't mind giving up for the bonus one gets from the spirits. So reading the rules and looking over the Spirits, I have come to a sort of problem that I am not sure how to proceed with: Can you choose the same Spirit more than once? From the wording listed, I don't see why you couldn't. Nothing prohibits you in any specific way from doing so. And while one might think that the boni from having the same spirit more than once wouldn't stack, the boni are untyped! So you could theoretically take the Archmage or Champion multiple times to increase your damage by a bit, or the Hierophant to boost up healing (just use these as examples rather than talking about whether it's a good choice or not). So could you choose the same Spirit for different Implements and gain their bonus multiple times? ![]()
![]() @Bloodrealm: No, it's another PC that's arguing it that way. The GM did agree with him based on the reasoning I gave above. @Mark: Coolio. Thanks for having the time to chime in. :) That's what I figured, not what they read, though. I honestly don't think there's a wordage issue, just people trying to wiggle things certain ways. I've shown this to them and the GM has changed his mind towards it. ![]()
![]() Except that it does at the beginning by saying you can make attacks out to 120ft? "...an elemental annihilator can make a full attack of devastating infusions against targets within 120 feet as a full-attack action." Attacks and damage as per Devastating Infusion. Increase range to 120ft. So unless 'Melee Attack' inherently means within melee reach, and that quality of 'melee' cannot be overridden (my argument), then you can make 'melee attacks' out to 120ft. ![]()
![]() Wanting to make a clarification on just what this ability does as my friend and I are having a discussion and part of it just seems off, possibly due to lack of key words. But, it might be written as intended. So Flurry of Devastation mentions that you can make attacks out to 120ft. But, it doesn't explicitly state whether they be melee or ranged attacks as Devastating Infusion does. As such, his understanding is that you can make a Full Attack with the benefits of Two Weapon Fighting out to 120ft with melee attacks. My reasoning as to why it wouldn't allow the 120ft melee attack is because it is still a melee attack, and melee attacks rely on your melee reach. As is, the wording is in favor of his interpretation, as it never specifically states if the 120ft is applied only to the ranged attack variant or not. The ability to attack things within 120ft is part of a Flurry of Devastation. Any help would be appreciated. ![]()
![]() Juju Oracles get Create Undead as a mystery spell, but specifically only for making Juju zombies. Oracles do not have access to the Ennervation or Energy Drain requirement until level 17+, but gains the spell at level 11. Is there some rule I am missing that allows them to ignore this requirement or some other wording that I am missing? Thanks. |